Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest stuart Linderman

Run scores if runner tagged out at first?

Question

Guest stuart Linderman

Man on third, two outs.  Batter hits a slow roller to the pitcher near the first base foul line.  Runner stop midway to first and the confused pitcher runs to tag him.  Runner from thrid crosses the place before the pitcher tags the batter.  The batter was NOT forced at first.  Does the run score?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1
39 minutes ago, Guest stuart Linderman said:

Man on third, two outs.  Batter hits a slow roller to the pitcher near the first base foul line.  Runner stop midway to first and the confused pitcher runs to tag him.  Runner from thrid crosses the place before the pitcher tags the batter.  The batter was NOT forced at first.  Does the run score?

1) A force out is only possible because the runner has to run because the batter became a runner (and now labeled a batter-runner) It does not matter if you tag the runner or the base, it's still a force out.

2) The play on the batter-runner at first is not ever a force as there was no batter-runner pushing him..

3) That's why the rules have separate exception in a run scoring with a third out play. One is for a runner being forced out. Another is for if the batter-runner is out before touching first base.  In you play the run does not score for the second reason. 

 

Here is the actual rule:

One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first,
second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a
play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first
base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is
declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.

And the force out rule:

He or the next base is tagged before he touches the next base, after he has been
forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0

This is not a time play. No run can score if the BR does not reach 1B. Doesn't matter how he's put out. Tagged runner, tagged base..no different.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
48 minutes ago, Guest stuart Linderman said:

Man on third, two outs.  Batter hits a slow roller to the pitcher near the first base foul line.  Runner stop midway to first and the confused pitcher runs to tag him.  Runner from thrid crosses the place before the pitcher tags the batter.  The batter was NOT forced at first.  Does the run score?

The run does not score. The batter was NOT forced at 1B ( the play at 1B is not a force by rule) but I don't think you understand what he actually had to do. He had to not be put out before he touched 1B. Since he was put out for the third out before he touched 1B the run doesn't score

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

The batter has become a runner due to the ball in play. The base or the batter-runner may be tagged. No run can score when the batter-runner is put out for the third out prior to attaining first base.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

The situation defines a force, not where the tag was applied.

A runner on first base is forced to second when the batter hits the ball.  Whether you tag that runner (before he reaches second) or tag the base it is a force out.

Same with the batter going to first, though as stated above, the batter is (technically) not forced - by rule a "force" only happens to runners on base.  The batter is simply someone who must go to first base when he hits the ball.

So, if a runner is forced out for the third out, or the batter makes the third out before reaching first base safely, the run doesn't score.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×