Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest David Knowles

Baseball Coach

Question

Guest David Knowles

Situation; Bases loaded with one out. Runner on 2nd attempts to steal 3rd (forgetting 3rd base is occupied) with Runner on 3rd taking his secondary lead. Catcher receives pitch and attempts to get R3 in a rundown and R2 comes all the way to 3rd base and tags it, R3 retreats to 3rd base and is not tagged out during rundown, and I don't think both runners ever occupied 3rd base at the same time which I don't believe should matter anyway because I know they can occupy the same base until one of them is tagged out, R2 retreats to 2nd base and the opposing team fails to tag him out with all runners now occupying the base they were at this for the pitch was delivered (R1 at 1st base never attempted to advance to 2nd. Is there any ruling that there is an automatic out anywhere in this scenario. Weird situation I witnessed yesterday.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts


Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
30 minutes ago, Guest David Knowles said:

Situation; Bases loaded with one out. Runner on 2nd attempts to steal 3rd (forgetting 3rd base is occupied) with Runner on 3rd taking his secondary lead. Catcher receives pitch and attempts to get R3 in a rundown and R2 comes all the way to 3rd base and tags it, R3 retreats to 3rd base and is not tagged out during rundown, and I don't think both runners ever occupied 3rd base at the same time which I don't believe should matter anyway because I know they can occupy the same base until one of them is tagged out, R2 retreats to 2nd base and the opposing team fails to tag him out with all runners now occupying the base they were at this for the pitch was delivered (R1 at 1st base never attempted to advance to 2nd. Is there any ruling that there is an automatic out anywhere in this scenario. Weird situation I witnessed yesterday.

There is no automatic out anywhere in your narrative.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×