Opening day is tomorrow for NJ HS. Here is part of an email from our association interpreter, a very opinionated individual...
We do not go to our partner on a check swing because the coach has requested it. We can go to our partner IMMEDIATELY if needed. We all must be consistent in this mechanic all the time. Coaches have told me and umpires that some umpires still go when requested by coach. Please stop that and be consistent and the coaches will understand better and not ask.
While I know that we are not required to in HS, but I have always done it as long as the coach hasn't been a d!ck about it.
By Mad Mike
OBR Rule Set.
Bases loaded, no outs. Count 1-2 on batter. Low pitch comes in, skips the dirt, catcher blocks the ball and it then touches the batter. Batter does not swing at pitch and begins to jog to first base-presumably believing he was hit by the pitch. Unfortunately, umps don't kill it before this goes down......baserunners all begin to advance at a leisurely trot. Runner on third scores. Keep in mind TIME has not been called. The other runners advance to second and third respectively.
Question: How would you handle this when the defensive coach indicates that the Batter-Runners actions deceived the defense? He wants to know why there is no penalty for the BR doing this.
Now, it is incumbent on the defense to know the status of the ball. The catcher simply threw the ball back to the catcher as the runner trotted home.
Can/should this be "fixed" in any way, i.e. return all the runners, no score allowed, count now 2-2 or do we allow the score and advances by the runners and the count is now 2-2. Would we warn the batter if he steps out without legal reason(s), he is subject to some penalty--perhaps ejection?
Please discuss what option(s), if any are available.
Also, as a twist---what if this were NFHS? Could we get the batter out for stepping out of the box with both feet? (I don't think so, because the pitch has technically ended once it touched the catcher. But I am interested in what you guys think.)
Interesting scenario tonight. I'm BU........RH P, RH B....pitch audibly/visibly nicks batter on the backside. I raise my hands expecting the PU to call HBP. I could hear it and I saw it. PU does nothing and I immediately lower my hands, but it was too late.....the defense saw that I had something.
The catcher/coach convinces the PU to come to me and he asks if I have an HBP. I say "YES. I saw it and I heard it, no question." We award, opposite coach comes out, respectful/short discussion, and we play on.
My question is (and I think I know the answer):
1) Did I mess up as a BU signaling a call normally reserved for the PU?
2) If I hadn't raised my hands nor been called on it by the defense, should I have gone to him on my own to let him know what I had? It was obvious to ME (b/c I heard it and saw it)