Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Sign in to follow this  
Gfoley4

Blocking the plate?

Recommended Posts


Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

I just missed this play when I turned the game on, wasn't able to rewind it. OBS was called correct?  Looked like he was safe anyway!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow.   Is this what you guys mean by the 'wedge' ?   HPU was in perfect position to see the touch of ... the very point of the plate.  I had to go frame-by-frame to be sure.

  And yes... OBS... was it called?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, BrianC14 said:

Wow.   Is this what you guys mean by the 'wedge' ?   HPU was in perfect position to see the touch of ... the very point of the plate.  I had to go frame-by-frame to be sure.

  And yes... OBS... was it called?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Gil said:

Parsing the NCAA rule does no good. You have to parse their video interps. This bold is a conclusion I reached in a response in an earlier thread:

 

Another poster: 

that's where I'm getting stuck, as I see the catcher protected with the it shall not be considered a violation if the catcher blocks the pathway of the runner in a legitimate attempt to field the throw, (e.g., in reaction to the direction, trajectory or the hop of the incoming throw.

It seems the bobble of the ball is still part of the legitimate attempt to field the ball based on the hop, so I'm not seeing the obstruction here.

I can't tell if Maven is saying the same thing with his quote at the end of his great post, or if that's what he's replying to and essentially arguing against the highlighted part of the rule.

My response;

Based on the latest NCAA video I would say the highlighted should read as follows: it shall not be considered a violation if the catcher blocks the pathway of the runner WHILE in an attempt to field the ball. In the OP and on the new NCAA video the catchers, who could field the throw from RF out of the baseline, both try to block the plate while fielding the throw. Their movement into the baseline was not a necessary reaction to the throw.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The video clearly shows F2 on his right knee.    The first time we see F2 and the runner in this video, the runner is roughly equal and at least 6 to 8 feet into the dirt circle.

Why else would the runner have taken the path that he did if not for F2 being on the baseline, and on his right knee?    

Wow.    

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Screen grabs from NCAA rule videos. Both legal as ball is on the way. Catcher can block plate with some body part while the ball is within 60'. That movement of the body part does not have to be a neccessary movement for fielding the ball.

 

legal.jpg

legal2.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Jimurray said:

Screen grabs from NCAA rule videos. Both legal as ball is on the way. Catcher can block plate with some body part while the ball is within 60'. That movement of the body part does not have to be a neccessary movement for fielding the ball.

 

legal.jpg

legal2.jpg

OK, so that's roughly 60 feet, give or take.   We can't see in the video where and what F2's movement might have been until the ball hops just in front of the plate, so we can assume that it's all legal as far as his positioning goes in receiving the ball.

But even on the 'rough' video here, the runner touches home plate.    If they did a video review, the question of OBS is a moot point anyway.   Am I seeing things or did the runner not touch the very point of the plate?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

×