Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
grayhawk

Sometimes you do everything right and stuff still happens

Recommended Posts

47 minutes ago, MidAmUmp said:

If an umpire at my clinic waited as long as he did on a screwed up play like this, I would tell him exactly what I wrote earlier...the player screwed up and made your life difficult. 

Again, this has absolutely nothing to do with timing. The runner was practically laying on the baseball. No one could see it. The timing was good, the fielder held up his glove, he called him out, then the fielder realized he didn't have the ball. Fielder picked it up, umpire stayed with the play, and changed his call when evidence proved the runner was safe. 

We all know most double calls occur because an umpire made up his mind too soon. This was not the case in this situation.

I would say something if a camper immediately called him out, then had to change the call because the umpire didn't take everything into account.

I would say something if a camper made a double call and the ball was obviously not in the glove/on the ground. That didn't happen on this play.

I would have absolutely nothing wrong with a camper handling this play this way.

Exactly why I posted the video and I agree 100%. Thank you. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
13 minutes ago, BrianC14 said:

That's been answered three times.  Yesterday. 

Yes, I apologize.  For some reason (likely PEBCAK) I didn't see the other responses until after I responded.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Today's Mets-Nats game
 
a good example of making sure the ball is in the glove. 
 
http://m.mlb.com/video/v1511987883/wshnym-duda-scores-on-error-after-darnaud-singles/?query=Mets


Very different from the OP. The umpire could see the ball come out - he pointed right at it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, grayhawk said:

 


Very different from the OP. The umpire could see the ball come out - he pointed right at it.

 

Respectfully I see it differently, PU reacts only after seeing F1 sprint for the ball, he then turns to see the loose ball.  From another angle it is apparent that Duda's leg blocks PU view so near impossible to see it real time. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Respectfully I see it differently, PU reacts only after seeing F1 sprint for the ball, he then turns to see the loose ball.  From another angle it is apparent that Duda's leg blocks PU view so near impossible to see it real time. 


Even if that's true, he still had a visual cue (F1 sprinting for the ball) to alert him that something was amiss. That was not the case in the OP.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 6/12/2017 at 6:21 PM, BrianC14 said:

That is hilarious.... did Vin Scully call him "Greg Coslan" or some such?     LOL

Don't think that is Vin Scully. The feed says it is from FS San Diego. I think it is Dick Enberg.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, goody14 said:

Don't think that is Vin Scully. The feed says it is from FS San Diego. I think it is Dick Enberg.

It's Vin...keep listening

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
42 minutes ago, johnnyg08 said:

It's Vin...keep listening

Ahhh....the clip played both feeds. The second one is most definitely Vin. Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×