Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Radie 88

Signal on Out #4? (Not the 4th Out)

Recommended Posts

Talking about a situation where the DT forgets how many outs there are and complete a double play with 2 outs already...

I (think I) know that you should not make the call after out #3, but I can see a situation where the fielder at 2B misses the bag ("what about the neighborhood rule, blue?") but is given the out call... Then is changed to safe either by appeal or by conference with a partner... This obviously makes out #4 at 1B really out #3... And thus, quite important. 

Does this warrant at least a silent signal? I feel like I'm definitely tracking it (chest is a magnet to ball)... But part of me feels like ignoring it completely isnt right. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Just note it so you can bring it up later.  No need to signal.

 

(And, I'd question how / whether the play at second could / should be overturned in your OP)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When an umpire changes a judgment call, by rule he must make any additional changes to avoid putting either team at a disadvantage. In your situation (which is just this side of a TWP), doing so could involve calling the out at 1B after the fact.

We signal to communicate our rulings, and after the third out, there is no play on which to rule. No signal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×