Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
beerguy55

Catcher friendly to umps

As a coach I teach my catchers that the umpire is your new best friend.

My catchers introduce themselves to the PU, ask the umpire for their brush to clean the plate after warm up, and generally converse with the umpire through the game - in a deferential manner.  All discussions are respectful..."where did that miss, Fred?" as opposed to "Blue, that caught the corner."

Does it help on those close pitches here and there?  Who knows?  I'm sure it doesn't hurt.  I think having a positive relationship with the umpire is just as valuable to being able to frame a pitch effectively.  Now, I still want that interaction to be sincere.  The point is, the ump is a person, with feelings, personal crap going on at home, a love for the game, and who knows what other characteristics...not a robot setting out to screw you out of every strike or out possible.   

I want the catcher to be friendly to the ump because a friendly ump is a relaxed ump, and a relaxed ump is an effective ump.  And I don't know why on earth you'd want to be an enemy of the umpire.  Or why you'd want to put an ump on edge before the game even starts.  Or why you'd want to be impersonal to the ump.  If being nice to the ump gives me an edge, wonderful, but even if it doesn't, I can't figure out a downside to it.

As umpires, what kind of interaction would you prefer to have with the catcher during a game?  Do you fraternize, or would you rather keep it strictly professional?

• Like 1

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

I personally like a friendly catcher, especially if he has a good sense of humor. I don't like him talking to the batter though (unless it's obvious they know each other and are friendly towards each other).

• Like 1

Great question! Thanks for stopping by!