Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Recommended Posts


Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
1 minute ago, maven said:

Don't we have a thread on this?

I don't know, do we?  Not in the professional section

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I guess not: Gil has one from a different game (same teams, but West had the plate) where Kipnis had a check swing. He checks a lot.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, johnpatrick said:

Good job by Big Joe West on waiting for the appeal ruling by U3 before making his call.

But Joe had to remind U3 that he needed a ruling on the swing. PU would normally call that a swing but catcher blocked him and he gestured to U3. U3 must have been following the throw. Messed up, which is why they gave Mattingly a little leash.

But at least Joe reenforces the "make no call" mechanic which some here consider advanced and not suitable for amateur umps.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On Wednesday, September 07, 2016 at 8:59 AM, johnpatrick said:

Good job by Big Joe West on waiting for the appeal ruling by U3 before making his call.

Why did he wait?  There were no outs.  The stolen base attempt was a play that needed to be ruled on.  Whether or not the batter swung/struck out or not is irrevalent.  I can see if the K was the 3rd out, but in this case it wasn't.  The ruling on the check swing had no bearing on the call at 2B.  Just my $0.02

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On Wednesday, September 07, 2016 at 1:37 PM, Jimurray said:

But at least Joe reenforces the "make no call" mechanic which some here consider advanced and not suitable for amateur umps.

If the K was the 3rd out of the inning, I agree.  But, there were no outs at the time of the play.  A ruling on the stolen base attempt needed to be made. The swing/no-swing call had no bearing on the play West had at 2B.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, UmpJeff said:

Why did he wait?  There were no outs.  The stolen base attempt was a play that needed to be ruled on.  Whether or not the batter swung/struck out or not is irrevalent.  I can see if the K was the 3rd out, but in this case it wasn't.  The ruling on the check swing had no bearing on the call at 2B.  Just my $0.02

3-2 count. That was ball 4. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 minutes ago, Stk004 said:

3-2 count. That was ball 4.

Missed that one...

Thanks for alerting me.  I stand corrected...

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Similar Content

    • By LMSANS
      Opening day is tomorrow for NJ HS.  Here is part of an email from our association interpreter, a very opinionated individual...
      We do not go to our partner on a check swing because the coach has requested it.  We can go to our partner IMMEDIATELY if needed.  We all must be consistent in this mechanic all the time.  Coaches have told me and umpires that some umpires still go when requested by coach.  Please stop that and be consistent and the coaches will understand better and not ask.
      While I know that we are not required to in HS, but I have always done it as long as the coach hasn't been a d!ck about it.
       
    • By FleasOf1000Camels
      12u under OBR.  I am in 'C' with runners at 1st and 2nd.
      Batter squares to bunt, pitch is WAY inside, pitch hits batter in the stomach.  Partner calls TIME and tells batter to take first.  All sounds fine, EXCEPT the batter CLEARLY offered at the pitch.
      DC politely approached plate and conversation goes like this:
      DC: Sir, didn't he offer at the pitch?
      PU: Coach, the batter was hit by the pitch.
      DC: Yes, I know that, but didn't he offer at the pitch?
      PU: No.
      DC: Can you check with your partner?
      PU: No, that's not an appealable call.
      I know the initial call is his, and I'm only to get involved if HE asks for help...but when he is mistaken on a point of rule (as opposed to judgment) should I have done anything?  I had been trying throughout the entire time to quietly get his attention, to let him know I had info he ought to know.  The coach walked back to the dugout scratching his head.
       
    • By Thunderheads
      On a bases loaded grounder back to F1 ..... he flips to F2 for the apparent force at home ..... not so fast!
      The downside of replay (or upside) ...it can see just about anything.  I think Mark Ripperger, from his angle had the out, as we probably all would have called it .....
      This is the stuff you see now, thanks to replay
      http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/63817564/v1132049483/?query=umpire
    • By Thunderheads
      Garden variety of course, but ....I just always like seeing these!
      Question, .... do you call this at the levels you umpire? (just for conversations sake )
      http://m.mlb.com/video/v1057965383/?query=balk
×