Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
umpire_scott

Obstruction result of throw

Recommended Posts

R2 is stealing third.  The throw from F2 pulls F5 off the bag and into the path of R2.  As a result when R2 slides he comes up short of the bag.  F5 is essentially laying on top of him at that point and applies the tag.  The obstruction rule seems to clear the fielder of obstruction as long as he is making a play on the thrown ball.  Is this always the case or are there any interps where if he is laying on him, but still in possession of the ball, he can be construed to have not given him a "path to the base"?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
2 hours ago, umpire_scott said:

R2 is stealing third.  The throw from F2 pulls F5 off the bag and into the path of R2.  As a result when R2 slides he comes up short of the bag.  F5 is essentially laying on top of him at that point and applies the tag.  The obstruction rule seems to clear the fielder of obstruction as long as he is making a play on the thrown ball.  Is this always the case or are there any interps where if he is laying on him, but still in possession of the ball, he can be construed to have not given him a "path to the base"?

What ruleset? OBR, FED?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×