Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
umpire_scott

Interpretation on bunt

Recommended Posts

Had a situation where a batter squared to bunt and was hit by a pitch.  I ruled that once the pitch came into his body that while he did not pull back the bat he was attempting to get out of the way and not attempting to bunt at the pitch.  My partner disagreed and said that in his mind once a player squares his body to bunt that he views that as the equivalent of bringing the bat threw the zone and therefore feels that he has committed to the bunt and it is an attempt at that point.

What are others thoughts on this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
26 minutes ago, umpire_scott said:

Had a situation where a batter squared to bunt and was hit by a pitch.  I ruled that once the pitch came into his body that while he did not pull back the bat he was attempting to get out of the way and not attempting to bunt at the pitch.  My partner disagreed and said that in his mind once a player squares his body to bunt that he views that as the equivalent of bringing the bat threw the zone and therefore feels that he has committed to the bunt and it is an attempt at that point.

What are others thoughts on this?

In baseball, while squaring to bunt, the batter must offer at the pitch for it to be a strike. Simply holding the bat doesn't constitue a "swing." So, in the OP, as long as the batter didn't attempt to contact the pitch with his bat, it's a HBP.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This can be a tough call. 

TC tourney, 18u. I was BU and being evaluated as part of a clinic.

Tight spot late in a close game. Batter squares, the ball comes up and in, and hits the batter as he's trying to turn away. My partner calls time and comes to me right away "Did he offer?" (he said later he was completely blocked out. Batter squares, pitch coming at him, and F2 stands up as well. Understandable)

From "C" with RHB, I've got a guy who after squaring to bunt, did nothing but try to twist away from the pitch. I have no attempt, DHC a little PO'ed at the call. I try to explain the batter needs to attempt to bunt the ball, not just hold the bat across the plate. He insists I'm wrong, but walked away mumbling under his breath.

FF to the post game evaluation. Our evaluator asked us what went on. We explained. He then tells me, good job calming down DHC, then comes the killer..He tells me, "while you have a good grasp on the rule involved here, from the "C" position, you may have been a bit straightlined, and didn't see that the batter actually pushed the bat forward towards the ball before trying to spin out of the way." He said from his vantage point just up the 1B line, he could easily see the bat come towards the ball first. 

Lesson learned. When in BU and batter squares, pay close attention to the bat AND his arms to be ready to determine if a bunt was attempted before the HBP. or any up and in pitch that makes batter turn away at some point. 

 

Oh, and your partner has made up some rules in his mind. :HS

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, Richvee said:

This can be a tough call. 

TC tourney, 18u. I was BU and being evaluated as part of a clinic.

Tight spot late in a close game. Batter squares, the ball comes up and in, and hits the batter as he's trying to turn away. My partner calls time and comes to me right away "Did he offer?" (he said later he was completely blocked out. Batter squares, pitch coming at him, and F2 stands up as well. Understandable)

From "C" with RHB, I've got a guy who after squaring to bunt, did nothing but try to twist away from the pitch. I have no attempt, DHC a little PO'ed at the call. I try to explain the batter needs to attempt to bunt the ball, not just hold the bat across the plate. He insists I'm wrong, but walked away mumbling under his breath.

FF to the post game evaluation. Our evaluator asked us what went on. We explained. He then tells me, good job calming down DHC, then comes the killer..He tells me, "while you have a good grasp on the rule involved here, from the "C" position, you may have been a bit straightlined, and didn't see that the batter actually pushed the bat forward towards the ball before trying to spin out of the way." He said from his vantage point just up the 1B line, he could easily see the bat come towards the ball first. 

Lesson learned. When in BU and batter squares, pay close attention to the bat AND his arms to be ready to determine if a bunt was attempted before the HBP. or any up and in pitch that makes batter turn away at some point. 

 

Oh, and your partner has made up some rules in his mind. :HS

Just as with a full swing, you can start the bat then pull it back. Just moving the bat doesn't make it a strike. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You're right: you must rule on whether the batter offered, even after he squares to bunt. Merely holding the bat in the zone is not an offer, as he must actively meet ball with bat to have offered.

There are no shortcuts to good officiating.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, scrounge said:

He can view in his mind that a chair is a giraffe, but it doesn't make it one. 

:rollinglaugh:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Rich Ives said:

Just as with a full swing, you can start the bat then pull it back. Just moving the bat doesn't make it a strike. 

Indeed. Pushing the bat forward to meet the ball after squaring is an attempt. Squaring and then turning away of course is not an attempt. In my case, I didn't see the batter push forward trying to meet the ball prior to his spinning away and called no attempt. The view from the 1B line said differently. 

My main point is it's something we need to be very aware of from "B" or "C" in a bunting situation because there's a good chance PU can get blocked out on this and we're going to need to know if that batter attempted to bunt the ball or merely squared and pulled back.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
16 hours ago, umpire_scott said:

Had a situation where a batter squared to bunt and was hit by a pitch.  I ruled that once the pitch came into his body that while he did not pull back the bat he was attempting to get out of the way and not attempting to bunt at the pitch.  My partner disagreed and said that in his mind once a player squares his body to bunt that he views that as the equivalent of bringing the bat threw the zone and therefore feels that he has committed to the bunt and it is an attempt at that point.

What are others thoughts on this?

So I guess every time someone squares to bunt with your partner on the plate it has to be a strike eh?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, JSam21 said:

So I guess every time someone squares to bunt with your partner on the plate it has to be a strike eh?

We have a term for that. 

Softball. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Richvee said:

Indeed. Pushing the bat forward to meet the ball after squaring is an attempt. Squaring and then turning away of course is not an attempt. In my case, I didn't see the batter push forward trying to meet the ball prior to his spinning away and called no attempt. The view from the 1B line said differently. 

My main point is it's something we need to be very aware of from "B" or "C" in a bunting situation because there's a good chance PU can get blocked out on this and we're going to need to know if that batter attempted to bunt the ball or merely squared and pulled back.  

So if I start a normal swing it's an attempt?  No checked swing possible?  I think not.  

Starting a bunt and pulling back is no different.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
26 minutes ago, Rich Ives said:

So if I start a normal swing it's an attempt?  No checked swing possible?  I think not.  

Starting a bunt and pulling back is no different.

you're obviously not seeing this the way I'm describing or just looking to pick a fight, so I'll stop trying to explain the situation. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×