Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
bengalvfan

OBR, 2out, Ball 4, bases loaded, batter goes in dugout

OBR, 2 Outs, Bases loaded, Ball 4, The game ending winning run touches home plate. Batter goes into the Dugout. What do you do next?  

9 members have voted

  1. 1. OBR, 2 Outs, Bases loaded, Ball 4, The game ending winning run touches home plate. Batter goes into the Dugout. What do you do next?

    • Call the batter out immediately, game moves to next inning tied
      4
    • Call the batter out after appeal, game moves to next inning tied
      1
    • If no appeal is made, get off the field game over
      4


Recommended Posts

I have been reading some posts about this lately and did some searches and found some old discussions but it never seems to be resolved. Some say the umpire is to call the out immediately. Some say it must be appealed. Some claim abandonment even though the batter never even reached first. 

What is the correct mechanics when this scenario happens? Do we call the out right away or wait for some sort of appeal?

And when this is a game ending scenario do these mechanics or the way it is called change? (4.09 b) This may sound dumb on why would a runner go to the dugout if it did not end the game well in one scenario I am referencing is that in middle part of a game there was a five run limit and the coache tells his runners that is 5 runs come on in and the batter did not touch first. 

The main point here though is the out called immediately or on appeal?

Edited by bengalvfan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Eject the PU for being a crappy communicator. Give him a good heave-ho.

Then tell the batter to get his butt to 1B and play on.

Any umpire who is eager to call a kid out (and this doesn't happen above 10U) needs a new hobby.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would treat the "5 run limit" the same as at the end of the game.  Note that the rule says something about the batter "refusing" to go to first.  to "refuse" you must be told to do so.  So, mr. umpire -- tell the kid to go touch first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×