Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Sign in to follow this  
LeoDev

R3 Interference with a Foul Fly Ball

Recommended Posts

This question came up in our meeting tonight:

With R3 on third and one out, B6 hits a fly ball in foul territory near third base. R3, who was leading off in foul ground collides with F6, who was trying to make a play.

After agreeing that the R3 was out for interference, I asked "what about the pitch?"

Much discussion ensued about what to rule the, such as: adding a foul ball the B6, for an uncaught foul to calling a no pitch due to the interference.

I could not find a rule reference for the pitch.

My opinion is the the batter should have a strike added to his count for the foul ball.

What say you. Please cite a rule or casebook reference, if possible.

Thanks, Leo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

LeoDev,

It's an uncaught foul ball - so if less than 2 strikes on the batter, a strike is added to his count. If 2 strikes, count remains the same.

I believe there was a case play added last year - can't recall if it was in 7. or 8. off the top of my head.

JM

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×