Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
jhopp

1st base interference

Question

a ball is hit to shortstop, he throws to first, the throw is bad and first basemen crosses in front of first into foul territory to catch the throw and now first base bag is behind him, runner is approaching first when first basemen steps back with one leg attempting to tag the bag.....he however misses the bag and now his leg is blocking the bag to the home plate side of the bag......the runner to avoid stepping on or hitting his leg jumps over the leg and misses the bag. The first basemen turns and tags the runner before he can return to first.

The first base ump calls the runner safe because of first basemen interference.

The home ump argues that since the first basemen had the ball, and wasn't in the act of fielding the ball, so trying to tag the base with foot was not interference.

 

who is correct?

 

this was a softball game. I believe the rule in softball is you can block a base if you have the ball, but not if you don't......so I would side with the home ump on this one. but I'm not sure.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

6 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

First, it's obstruction, not interference.

 

Second, it's virtually impossiuble for a player with the ball to obstruct.

 

2.00 Obstruction -- Obstruction is the act of a fielder who, while not in posession of the ball, ... impedes the prgress of any runner.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0

Actually, the runner is safe because he passed the base before he was tagged. To get him out for missing the base you need an appeal because any missed base requires an appeal (7.10)).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Ok, so lets say there was a runner on third as well and two outs when the play at first happens. The runner going to first jumps over the leg, misses the bag and is called safe by 1st base ump because if you miss a bag you are not out till the appeal is made......before the appeal is made the runner on 3rd scores. The rule states: Run is not allowed when inning ends with a force out......however, the runner going to first was called out via appeal....not force. Does run count?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Actually, the runner is safe because he passed the base before he was tagged. To get him out for missing the base you need an appeal because any missed base requires an appeal (7.10)).

Ok, so lets say there was a runner on third as well and two outs when the play at first happens. The runner going to first jumps over the leg, misses the bag and is called safe by 1st base ump because if you miss a bag you are not out till the appeal is made......before the appeal is made the runner on 3rd scores. The rule states: Run is not allowed when inning ends with a force out......however, the runner going to first was called out via appeal....not force. Does run count?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Ok, so lets say there was a runner on third as well and two outs when the play at first happens. The runner going to first jumps over the leg, misses the bag and is called safe by 1st base ump because if you miss a bag you are not out till the appeal is made......before the appeal is made the runner on 3rd scores. The rule states: Run is not allowed when inning ends with a force out......however, the runner going to first was called out via appeal....not force. Does run count?

 

Not if that appeal/out was the 3rd out because the batter was called out before touching 1B (or on a force out). The run would have counted on an appeal without the force/1B touch situation if the run scored before the missed base appeal was made.

 

FYI, defensive players that hinder a runner might be called for obstruction ... offensive players might interfere. And defensive players with possession of the ball rarely, if ever, are guilt of obstruction.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Similar Content

    • By MR20
      Hi all, the end result of this play was called Interference. Is that the correct call?
      With the bases loaded and one out, the batter hit a grounder to 3B. The runner from 3B scored. The third basemen fielded the ball and tug 3B for the force out on the runner from 2B (for the 2nd out) and threw the ball to 1B hoping for a double play. However, the throw to 1B was errant and the batter was safe. The runner from 1B went all the way to 3B during this time.
      Here is where it gets crazy. The runner who was forced out at 3B thought he was safe and ran towards home on the errant throw. The defensive team threw home and the runner was called out (again) for the final out of the inning. The defense left the field. The offensive team realized what happened and argued that the runner couldn't be called out twice. Their stance was that the play should be ruled dead and the batter, who had gone to 2B when the defense threw home, should be returned to 1B and there should still be 2 outs.
      After a long discussion, the umpires ruled that the runner wasn't out because he was tagged out at home (the second time he'd been called out) but he was out because of interference. That was the final out and end of the inning.
      Was that the correct call? I had never seen anything like it before.
      Thank you,
      Mike
    • By johnnyg08
      R2 (stealing), R3 (not stealing)
      Batter squares to bunt and hits the catcher's mitt while trying to bunt the pitch. The plate umpire correctly calls interference on the catcher. The pitch is fouled off out of play. The umpire begins to enforce the penalty.
      Without wondering why R3 isn't stealing, but R2 is stealing state the proper enforcement below. Feel free to cite any applicable case plays, rule citations, etc...
       
       
    • By basejester
      Little League Major Softball tournament.  Ball is dead.  Defense wishes to appeal a runner missed home.  Coaches are yelling instructions regarding the appeal process across the field.  Offensive coach tells his batter to swing if it's a strike.  Pitcher toes the rubber.  Home plate umpire puts the ball in play.
        Pitcher steps off and then moves about 3' to her left of the rubber and throws the ball overhand toward home.  (None of the players speak during the play.) The catcher moves forward toward the pitcher.  The ball comes in near the outside corner of the plate.   The batter swings at the ball and hits the catcher's mitt and hand.  The catcher is unable to catch the ball.  No runners attempt to advance.  Home plate umpire calls time for injured catcher.   What's your ruling?
    • By jms1425
      Stumbled across this video that was posted 11 years ago (YouTube is that old??).... My initial thought was that F1 is no longer protected after the ball hit him and bounced away by more than "a step and a reach", thus this would be obstruction on F1, so BR gets 1st.
      Thoughts?
       
       
       
×