Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Guest campos

1st base

Question

Guest campos

Shortstop throws ball to 1st, 1st base bobbles ball and drops it, baseman then stretches out to retrieve ball while still in contact with the base, he holds ball with his throwing hand pinned against the ground, is the runner out at 1st???

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

15 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

If he has secure possession of the ball in hand or glove, the ball may be touching the ground. Probably more likely with hand than glove. Out.

 

Merely pinning the ball to the ground is not secure possession. I'll be waiting to see what happens when the hand or glove moves.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
  • 0
Guest campos

Mind you that, his hand was on the top half of the ball and the other half of the ball was held against the ground. I told the coach that the runner was safe because in my judgement he didnt have full possession of the ball, that he had to pick the ball off the ground. Was i right or wrong?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Mind you that, his hand was on the top half of the ball and the other half of the ball was held against the ground. I told the coach that the runner was safe because in my judgement he didnt have full possession of the ball, that he had to pick the ball off the ground. Was i right or wrong?

look at post #2

 

 

on edit:

put yourself in F3's shoes .....

 

how can you have your hand on the top half of a ball ....it's probaby surrounding the ball for the most part

 

if he could easily pick the ball up showing you he had it, how can he not have it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

HTBT but, ask yourself this question.  Did the fielder have secure possession of the ball in his hand or his glove BEFORE the runner touches the base?  Your judgment is the determining factor.

 

One of the guidelines I was taught when starting out and it rings true on these close calls.

 

Reward the side that does it correctly.  i.e., If the defense makes great play, hustles, etc and batter-runner lollygags their way down to first?  Defense wins.  Vice Versa, F5 muffs routine ground ball, picks it up, throws across and batter-runner hustles his ass off to get there, reward the offense. 

 

However in my mind, defense usually wins as I am a strikes and outs guy.   Keeps the game moving.

 

This advice is for the whackers that can go either way in your mind.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Mind you that, his hand was on the top half of the ball and the other half of the ball was held against the ground. I told the coach that the runner was safe because in my judgement he didnt have full possession of the ball, that he had to pick the ball off the ground. Was i right or wrong?

 

It's a judgment call, you were there, and I wasn't. So I can't tell you that you were wrong.

 

The ball touching the ground is irrelevant. If his palm is not open, and the ball comes up with his hand when he rises, I'm probably getting the out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Guest campos

He never picked it up to show me he had it, he just laid there..pinning the ball against the ground. it was a 6 and 7 yr old league. Im all about rewarding the hustle.. batter.runner was going hard to the base.. it was close.. runner touched base while the f3 finally placed his hand om ball and pinned it on ground.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Timing timing timing. Wait until F3 shows you wether or not he actually has posession of the ball. There's no rush to make a call. It's nothing until we say it is. I myself am of the mind that he's out until he's not. So, I'm probably getting an out here. Unless F3 shows me that BR is safe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Well, I hope you got it right, so that people don't make websites about you.

They still want to lynch Don Denkinger for the wrong call in the WS with the Royals. When was that? 1985? LET IT GO!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Can't you trap the ball for a catch in high school rules?

If by "catch" you mean of a throw (as opposed of a batted ball in flight), then yes -- it can be "trapped."

 

I think there's some Note to that effect under the definition of Catch in Rule 2.

 

And, this part (other than perhaps the name of "catch" instead of "gloved") is the same in NCAA and pro rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

 it was a 6 and 7 yr old league. I'm all about rewarding the hustle.. batter.runner was going hard to the base.. it was close.. runner touched base while the f3 finally placed his hand om ball and pinned it on ground.

 

I know we are talking 6-7 yrs old.....so in the long run, what you called is what it is.....

 

But....IMHO

 

Don't "reward" players.....they are either safe or out......a great fielding play or base running hustle should not to be considered in whether someone is safe or out......you are asking for trouble....

 

I had a partner make a safe call on an amazing play by a SS....smash deep in the hole, SS slides on his knees gloves the ball and fires it to first........I'm coming up the line, the play is not really close, certainly not a banger but F3 stretches and gloves the ball....I got clearly safe in my mind, but I hear my partner say OUT!  

 

Partner said he had to reward that great play by the SS and a good stretch by F3...........and he then had to eject the 1st base coach and the HC,,,,,,,,,,

 

They are safe or out.......tell the kid, great play later in the game.....but don't insert that into the game....call what you see..........

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×