Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Sign in to follow this  
Kevin_K

BI while bunting

Recommended Posts

During today's HS varsity game, right-handed B1 squares to bunt. As F1 delivers, R1 breaks for second.

 

B1 takes the pitch for a strike over the inner half and moves his right foot toward the catcher, closing the distance between the two players. F2 has to do a little shuffle to avoid B1 while throwing to 2B. R1 is safe at 2B.

 

Upon seeing F2 being affected by B1's movement, I point and indicate batter's interference as I come from behind HP to administer the penalties. There was no squawking about the call, just a question about what had happened as OC was watching the play at 2B, not the missed bunt.

 

The more I think about it, the more I doubt my call since B1 was simply returning to a "normal" position from squaring to bunt.

 

I know this is a HTBT, but does it sound legit?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

If F2's play was affected by B1 stepping out of the box, it's BI. He has no right to "return."

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7-3-5-a, b, c.

Good call. In h.s. the catcher is protected from the batter interfering in any way.

I think this is different from OBR, where the batter's attempt is protected (but not his recoil or any other movement after). It seems like the batter in OP stepped toward the catcher (into his way) after his bunt attempt, rather than as he was squaring to bunt. If so, I think you have INT in both codes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kevin,

 

Sounds good to me.

 

Concur with maven, but I think he's picturing it a little different than I (as I recall, not the first time that has happened). My point being, even if the batter had not stepped out of the box with his right foot, he has made an "unusual movement" within the box (which is how I pictured your description), and he is liable to a BI call.

 

wingman,

 

"Interfere" is NOT a transitive verb. Sheesh, talk about complicating things!  :wave:

 

JM

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

...but I think he's picturing it a little difference than I...

When cowreckting other's grammar, one should double check his own; spellchecker will getcha.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7-3-5-a, b, c.

Good call. In h.s. the catcher is protected from the batter interfering in any way.

 

That's not true (depending, I suppose, on how literally you mean "interfere").  A normal swing, or a normal bunt attempt can make the catcher's play more difficult and not be interference.

 

Maybe I'm envisioning the play differently from everyone else, but I'm not sure I have INT here (I can picture a way in which it happens, though).  So, maybe it's HTBT.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

noumpere,

 

I think you raise an excellent point - both in respect to umpiring per se - and in respect to discussing umpiring in fora such as this.

 

Namely, the "Maybe I'm envisioning the play differently from everyone else,..." part.

 

It called to mind a memorable "donnybrook" from a few years back, when maven and I went "toe to toe" through six rounds, before I landed the following "roundhouse" and his corner "threw in the towel". (He may have still been trying to recover from the "low blow" I had snuck in immediately before the roundhouse - an intentional tactic which I'm not particularly proud of, but it's very effective, and I can be a VERY competitive person.) To wit:

 

...As the famous umpire Thomas Stearns Eliot once sagely observed, 
 

Quote:
...

Words strain,
Crack and sometimes break, under the burden,
Under the tension, slip, slide, perish,
Decay with imprecision, ...

 

 

 

The point being, it is at least a nearly impossible task to use words so precisely that they convey precisely the same picture to everyone who reads them. It is quite common for people to get materially different pictures in their "mind's eye" even though they just read the exact same words.

 

It is a source of some frustration to me that this frequently results in endless and pointless discussion about a potentially informative and interesting topic, because people are "arguing" with each other on the different "word pictures" they are seeing, and don't even realize that's what they are arguing about it. As a result, the learning points get obscured or lost all together.

 

Noumpere clearly "gets this" as does maven, & so do many others. I wish everyone did.

 

JM

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have no recollection of you winning, JM, and doubt such a thing ever occurred. :P

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have no recollection of you winning, JM, and doubt such a thing ever occurred. :P

 

maven,

 

Well that's understandable. I believe you had suffered a severe concussion from the roundhouse, and I understand that can cause "memory impairment" affects.

 

Now, to my everlasting embarrassment and chagrin, I am compelled to admit not ALL of our contests have gone as that one did. (See: "impartial")

 

And of course, regardless of the outcome, I always enjoy "slugging it out with you". (IIRC I never really apologized to you for the "low blow". Nor will I now.  :wave: )

 

'Til next time.

 

JM

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You're a legend in your own mind. Carry on. :meditation:

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the feedback guys!

 

It was an unusual sitch and I simply reacted to what I saw. As with many things, the more time you have to think the more likely you are to suffer paralysis through analysis.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Similar Content

    • By Thunderheads
      Poor quality JV double header on Saturday ....  Game 2, I have the dish (btw.... first game was 22-3 VT).  Innings and outs don't matter ....
       
      VT up to bat, R2 and R3 ....
      Pitch comes in and gets away from F2, he scrambles and grabs it and looks to R3 who was tempted to score but retreats ... F2 throws the ball that procedes to hit the batters bat sitting on his shoulder square in the box, ... he NEVER moved ....I instantly hear "INTERFERENCE" ...just as I "safe" and say "that's nothing"...
       
      "he's got to move"
      "no he doesn't"
      "yes he does"
      "Greg, ...he's in the box, and didn't interfere, he doesn't have to move, that's nothing"
       
      and that was it.....
       
      but  you heard the team and the coaches discussing it a couple batters later .....  "it doesn't matter, he's got to get out of the way"
       
      Also,... HT was down 12 -2  in game 2 at this point....
       
      Oh well ...
    • By Umpire in Chief
      A friend and I were talking this weekend about a play he saw in the game before his.
       
      Situation - Competitive collegiate wooden bat league, R1, no outs.
       
      R1 breaks to second on the pitch, batter steps back out of the box (away from catcher). 
       
      F2 misplays the catch and the ball bounces back toward the batter. 
       
      The batter for whatever reason taps the rolling ball back to the catcher with his bat. 
       
      PU calls the batter out for interference and returns the runner.
       
      The excrement hits the rotary device and the offensive manager argues.
      ....
       
      My friend and I both agreed that within the letter of the rules this is probably interference; but there was not a chance to put out the runner once the ball rolled that far away and common sense should have dictated a no call.
       
      We thought this was grabbing the dirty end of the stick and not a word would have been said with a no call. 
       
      Thoughts?
×