Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member
Scratch Franzeo

Dropped Third Strike???

Recommended Posts

FED rule set ...

X & 2 count, nobody on. Batter looks at third strike. The pitched ball hits F2 directly in the glove, bounces straight up. F2 catches ball as it comes down. The ball never touches the ground.

D3K??

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

FED rule set ...

X & 2 count, nobody on. Batter looks at third strike. The pitched ball hits F2 directly in the glove, bounces straight up. F2 catches ball as it comes down. The ball never touches the ground.

D3K??

It met the requiremnts of "catch" under any rules set.  Batter is out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
FED rule set ... X & 2 count, nobody on. Batter looks at third strike. The pitched ball hits F2 directly in the glove, bounces straight up. F2 catches ball as it comes down. The ball never touches the ground. D3K??
Not D3K

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you stop calling it "dropped" (slang and incorrect) and call it "uncaught" as the rules call it will be easier to understand. Note that to be caught it must be secured in flight. If it hits the ground and is then gloved securely it is still uncaught.

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Or if it his him anywhere besides his hand or glove, it's uncaught.<br /><br />Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2<br /><br />

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Or if it his him anywhere besides his hand or glove, it's uncaught.<br /><br />Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2<br /><br />

Is there somewhere in the rules or manuals to support this?  I only see this requirement for a fout tip.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Or if it hits him anywhere besides his hand or glove, it's uncaught.<br /><br />Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2<br /><br />

 

I don't think so. It's a pitch, not a foul tip.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you stop calling it "dropped" (slang and incorrect) and call it "uncaught" as the rules call it will be easier to understand. Note that to be caught it must be secured in flight. If it hits the ground and is then gloved securely it is still uncaught.

Agreed.  ANd remember that if it hits the ground first and is then tipped, it can be caught for a foul-tip strike.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you stop calling it "dropped" (slang and incorrect) and call it "uncaught" as the rules call it will be easier to understand. Note that to be caught it must be secured in flight. If it hits the ground and is then gloved securely it is still uncaught.

This ^^^^^ makes a lot of sense.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Or if it hits him anywhere besides his hand or glove, it's uncaught.<br /><br />Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2<br /><br />

 

I don't think so. It's a pitch, not a foul tip.

 

Yes, you and Mr. Umpire are correct, I was answering while doing a show and braincramped. Sorry. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Situation: R1, 2 outs.

Batter swings on strike 3, misses the ball, and the ball goes directly into PU's facemask without being touched by the catcher. The ball is dead since it's blocked in PU's facemask. Batter is awarded 1B ? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Situation: R1, 2 outs.

Batter swings on strike 3, misses the ball, and the ball goes directly into PU's facemask without being touched by the catcher. The ball is dead since it's blocked in PU's facemask. Batter is awarded 1B ? 

Correct

 

Rule 5.09(g) Comment:

If a foul tip hits the umpire and is caught by a fielder on the rebound, the ball is “dead†and the batsman cannot be called out. The same shall apply where such foul tip lodges in the umpire’s mask or other paraphernalia. If a third strike (not a foul tip) passes the catcher and hits an umpire, the ball is in play.

If such ball rebounds and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batsman is not out on such a catch, but the ball remains in play and the batsman may be retired at first base, or touched with the ball for the out.

If a pitched ball lodges in the umpire’s or catcher’s mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, on the third strike or fourth ball, then the batter is entitled to first base and all runners advance one base. If the count on the batter is less than three balls, runners advance one base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He did not say it lodged, it went into the mask.

Live ball, play on. No award.

maven

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He did not say it lodged, it went into the mask.

Live ball, play on. No award.

maven

he said in blocked. Probably meant lodged

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In Fed, I'm pretty sure the rules are silent on what happens when the ball is lodged on strike three. Of course, I would award the batter first and all runners one base, just like in OBR.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In Fed, I'm pretty sure the rules are silent on what happens when the ball is lodged on strike three. Of course, I would award the batter first and all runners one base, just like in OBR.

That depends on whether you can read without moving your lips. ;)

 

8-3-3d

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I guess that covers it. Was trying to recall something from the BRD, but it must have been something else.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×