F6 blocking R2's view of the pitcher, and bag blocking on pickoffs

JimSmith25
Umpire-Empire locks topics which have not been active in the last year. The thread you are viewing hasn't been active in 3909 days so you will not be able to post. We do recommend you starting a new topic to find out what's new in the world of umpiring.

I'm still learning the rules on more specific things even though I've studied up and have been doing this for 7 years. On the first situation:

F6 comes from behind R2 and attempts to block his view of the pitcher as the pitcher makes his motion towards second base (trying to give him that extra half second to get the runner out). Coaches want to argue that this is obstruction, even though no contact with R2 and F6 was made. 

Situation 2:

Pickoff to first base. While the ball is in the air, traveling towards the bag F3 drops a knee and blocks the entirety of the base facing the runner, catches the ball, and tags the runner out. (I've had quite a few arguments with fellow umpires with this one. Some agreeing and some disagreeing that a part of the bag needs to be reachable.)

Do you need to have physical contact to have obstruction?

What rule set are you playing under? That will make a difference in some cases.

If you're using high school rules, the first one is easy - it's explicitly called obstruction. They use that very example as one of a play they want to have called obstruction.

As to the second...well, not quite as clear cut. Depends on the rule set, is the fielder in the act of receiving the throw, etc. Again, if using high school rules, it's more straightforward - the fielder, unless he/she already has the ball (not about to get the ball, but actually has it), must give at least some access to the base. Not the full base, just some reasonable access.

Have the ball? Block all you want.

This was a good argument a few weeks ago at Gameday!