Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'runner interference rule 8-10'.
Found 1 result
BradH posted a topic in Fast Pitch1. Runner on second. Sharp ground ball to the pitcher's right, she gets her glove on it, but deflects it towards the shortstop who is charging in to get the ball. There is contact between the runner going to third and the SS and both fall to the ground. I call interference. The plate umpire and I discuss, she overrules because the ball was deflected off of the pitcher's glove. Rule 8-10 says...The Runner interferes: a. with the field attempting to make the initial play on a fair batter ball. (Emphasis mine). So, based on this rule, it looks like my partner was right. So, is this a no-call? Can there be no interference on a deflected ball and subsequent contact between runner and fielder?