Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'r3'.
Found 2 results
In 3-man, with R2 or R2-R3, U1 goes back to "A" with 2 outs. In the 2017 CCA manual, there are two different mechanics for a clean base hit in these two situations. With just R2, the book (pg 166) shows it as a slide (reverse rotation, push, whatever you call it) where U1 comes inside and takes the batter-runner into 2nd, and U3 has plays at 3rd. But for R2-R3, page 175 shows it as U1 staying at 1st, U3 staying at 2nd to take plays on the BR there, with the caveat that it can be a slide "by conference adoption". Any insight on why the book shows two different mechanics on essentially the same play? And which do you think is the better approach? The slide makes more sense to me, as U1 has a whole bunch of nothing to do if U3 takes the BR into 2nd. Then, if there is a misplay at 2nd on the BR, U3 now has to try and beat the BR to 3rd for any subsequent plays. With the slide, U1 can easily take the play on the BR at 2nd, and U3 is there at 3rd waiting if something blows up. Thoughts?
OBR Rule Set: R3, 1 out, 3-2 count. Passed ball for ball 4. Pitcher coming to cover home, batter-runner delays running to first slightly. R3 coming home. Slight contact between BR and Pitcher. Pitcher unable to get the out at home. The calling umpire told me he did not believe the BR intentionally ran into the pitcher. Would you call interference on this play? Would it make a difference if the pitcher was in the act of fielding a thrown ball from the catcher, or if he was not yet fielding a throw from the catcher?