Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'need rule'.
Found 1 result
26 yrs and never had this happen, R1 on 2nd, 2 and 2 count on B1, strike three in the dirt that batter swings at. I hammer the strike and then give the safe signal. Batter thinks it's strike 2 because the board had a 3-1 count. Ball is blocked by catcher and shoots up first base line. Catcher gets the ball and proceeded toward the batter and I thought he would tag him,but last minute turns and throws it back to the pitcher. The runner on second stayed there. The batter returned to the box and the catcher squatted behind him. I was still up the line about 6 feet with my mask tucked under my left arm. The boys were ready to resume play but I have a live ball and strike three. What would you do at this point? If you call time to explain the situation to either coach, then you can't let the batter run. This may be the only time that I've used the old umpire makes decision on play not addressed.