Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'missed first base'.
Found 2 results
Today one of our batter/runners was called out on 3rd strike and catcher dropped the ball. Batter/runner ran toward first and was hit by catcher's throw and missed touching first base. He turned around then touched the orange side of the safety base prior to the 1st baseman retrieving the ball and returning to 1st base. Upon appeal our runner was called out since they other team claimed that the orange side of the base was only for running to first from home versus returning to the base after missing it. Everything we can find says that the runner should have been rule safe. Comments please.
Ok ...I'd like everyone to first pardon my caffeine free morning brain-fart post .... Yesterday, Varsity league rivalry game, 2nd inning .... bouncer to F5, throw takes F3 off the bag and up as he must jump, B/R misses first (not perfectly clear, but..... Now, after B/R returns to first, then F3 tags him (while he's standing on first) and said to me ....'blue he missed first' ....I just signaled safe, and off we went. Question though (and here's the brain-fart): If F3 said to me, "blue he missed first" and tags B/R as he comes back to first before he arrives, THEN he would be out, if in fact, he missed first. Yes? And further, .... F3 must tag the B/R, NOT just touch first, correct? Fart....fart.....fart...........