Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'interference'.

More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


  • Umpire-Empire
    • Introductions
    • Ask the Umpire
    • Minor League Baseball Umpire Training Academy
    • Umpire-Empire
    • Memberships
    • Announcements & Milestones
    • Buy, Sell or Trade
  • Speak out
    • Free For All
    • Situations
    • Umpire Mechanics
    • Rules
    • Ejections
    • Umpire Equipment
    • Books
    • War Stories
  • Umpire News
    • Quick Tips
    • Close Call Sports/ Umpire Ejection Fantasy League
    • Umpire News From Around the Web
    • Ump-Attire.com
  • Level of Play
    • High School
    • Collegiate
    • Recreation
    • Professional
    • Softball
    • Cooperstown Dream Park
  • Off-Topic
    • Off-Topic/Funny Stories
    • Photography
    • Humor
    • Other Sports
    • Announcers


  • Interviews
  • Equipment
  • Game Management
  • Self Improvement
  • Health & Fitness
  • Miscellaneous
  • Get to Know


  • Equipment
    • Chest Protectors
    • Hockey Style Masks
    • Traditional Masks
    • Plate Shoes
    • Base Shoes
    • Shin Guards
    • Athletic Cups
    • Mask Pads
    • Other Equipment
  • Umpire Accessories
    • Equipment Bags
    • Indicators
    • Ball Bags
    • Line up card holders
    • Sunglasses
    • Other Accessories
  • Uniforms
    • Umpire Shirts
    • Umpire Pants
    • Undergarmets
    • Umpire Jackets/ Plate Coats
    • Umpire Caps
  • Suppliers
  • Umpire Manuals, Rules/Interpretation Manuals, Mechanics Manuals
  • Umpire Camps & Clinics
  • Books (pleasure reading)
  • Products no longer available for retail sale

Marker Groups

  • Members




Your Association Name


Types/Levels of Baseball called

Found 72 results

  1. Correct me if I'm wrong....

    I thought I had a good handle on this type play, now I'm wondering.... With R2 on second moving on the pitch, B1 hits a grounder in the hole at short. F5 comes over to field the ball, but it passes through his legs. As F6 is about to make the play, R2 inadvertently brushes into him.When the play ends, R2 is on third and B1 is on first. a. the play stands b. B1 is out c. R2 is out d. R2 must return to secon answer C. regardless of the ball passing F5, even if he deflected it as long as F6 has a play on the ball, R2 must avoid him. Interference is the call....all codes. (Different story if the ball hits the runner )
  2. Follow Through Interference

    R3, less than two outs. Ground ball to F4, but the batter's follow through hits the catcher. We have a 4-3 put out at first and run comes in to score. A) call batter out for interference, return R3 B) this is nothing - play stands C) call interference, return batter to plate and return R3 D) let the defense choose from B or C above? E) something else?
  3. Runner on third, 1 out. Ball is popped up to shallow right field. Runner does not wait for the catch and just runs home. Right fielder does not make the catch but when the runner realizes they should have waited to possibly tag up they have already touched the plate. They turn around and start running back to third thinking the RF made the catch. The RF sees the runner going back to third and throws the ball, overthrowing third. Batter eventually gets to third on the overthrow. There is an exception to the Interference rule that says just continuing to run the bases for a retired runner does not constitute interference. However, was this continuing to run? There is no call for a score so I don't think you can blame the RF for attempting the play unlike when a runner is called out. Interference or no?
  4. Coaches Interference or Not?

    8U Minor Leagues There is a close play at 1st base. Umpire signals the runner safe. The opposing coach yells "out!" so runner steps off of 1st. The 1st basemen then tags the runner and the umpire changes his call to out. Is this coaches interference? If so, where in the Little League hand book does it address this? Thanks! LC
  5. On-deck Batter Interference

    NFHS JV -- R1, R2 1 out. F1 throws a wild pitch. Both runners move up, before the ball stops moving, the on-deck batter picks up and hands the ball to F2. I (BU) call time and get together with my partner. We call R2 (now R3) out and send R1 back to first. Were we right? or OOO?
  6. Interference-Obstruction

    Re:HS softball- I read NFHS to say that Obstruction (defense) can be either intentional or unintentional- it's still obstruction. However when reading about Interference (offense) they only refer to it being intentional. But I'm thinking if a baserunner collides with a fielder making the initial play on a batted ball because the runner misjudged, it would be both unintentional AND Interference, no? R1 is on 2B and batted ball is deflected by pitcher to right side of IF. Ball is played by F4 wh goes to F3 with it. At the same time, R1 sees the deflection and takes off for 3B and SS (who has no play or effect on the outcome of the play) and R1 collide, would it be Interference or Obstruction?
  7. Did I kick this one??

    So I had a 11u travel ball game last night. I had one play occur that looking through the rulebook I think I might have kicked, but at the time neither side argued with my call. So I thought I would put it up and get thoughts. Situation, Runners on 1B & 2B, no outs. B/R lays down a bunt which goes right in front of the plate. As the B/R begins to run for 1B, he lets go off the bat in fair territory. It lands on top of the ball. I killed the play immediately, called the B/R out for interference, and sent the runners back to 1B and 2B. Here's my dilemma- OBR describes this situation in when the batter/runner is clearly trying to break up a double play. There was clearly not going to be a double play-runners were moving on the pitch. So I am just curious if I am reading that rule incorrectly (6.01-can't remember the subsection) To clarify, the ball didn't roll into the bat, the bat landed on the ball.
  8. Randomly stumbled on this clip on youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gfg0f13HtbQ Shouldn't this have been ruled a foul ball? Seems like the batter was still in the box when it hit the bat again.
  9. Bases Loaded, 1 out, DT (Red) and OT (White). 16U OBR + CBO mod (not relevant). I am BU, my partner, Mister L, is PU. With bases loaded, I'm in C. Batter chops one to F5, who then slides to his right, to step on 3B. I call and mechanic an "Out!". F5 then throws to F2, who botches the catch and tag application and R3 slides in to HP and scores. Ball dribbles into 1BS foul territory. I'm now in the working area. At this time, R(etired)R2 has been headed to his dugout on the 3BS and is a half-dozen steps from it while his 3BC is (seemingly) yelling at him to come back and to his R1 to advance to 3B on the throw. F6 dashes over to 3B to cover, R1 arrives at 3B well ahead of the throw, F6 catches the throw, turns and plants a tag on RR2, who has dashed back to within three or four feet of 3B (entirely in foul territory), completely confused as to why his coach is yelling at him. Everyone now looks my direction. I point at the tag, and say, "That runner is already out." At this point, the events branch a bit. Time is called by Mister L, who now has DTHC approaching him, at the prompting of his entire parents/fan base (one mom in particular whose voice carries through the entire quad), to ask about what just happened, and if there is interference. I've got the 3BC now clarifying with me that RR2 is, in fact, out based on the touch of 3B for a force out ("I didn't see him (F5) touch it!" The coach didn't see it because he was watching R3 dash for the plate). PU beckons me over while still discussing with DTHC his vantage of the play. We discuss and concur that R1 was on the bag well before the throw, and that RR2 didn't affect (or interfere) with the throw. We now have 2 outs, 1 run scored, and R3 and R2, back to baseball... and that mom still going on and on about interference and "shady baseball". Would anybody find / apply interference in this play?
  10. http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/63817564/v978911183/laakc-mondesi-collects-bunt-single-angels-protest/
  11. Protected fielder?

    I guess the ruling is Headley (f5) would have been able to cut in front of Didi (F6) to make the play so F5 is the protected fielder? http://m.mlb.com/video/v915008483/nyycle-yankees-get-forceout-on-interference-play/?query=+interference
  12. Chase Utley interference

    Saw this on the baseball subreddit... MLB.com doesn't have a full highlight of this up as of now. But, I believe this was ruled as interference on R1.
  13. Interference ruled on pop up

    R2, 2 outs. B/R hits a pop up on the right side of the infield. F1, F3, and B/R all converge just a little bit past the 45' mark. B/R continues on his path and continues as the F1 is right next to him. F1 gets a glove on the ball, but it's hits off his glove in foul territory. From where I was sitting, it didn't look like the B/R made any contact (and he was running in the runner's lane), but F1 was definitely affected by the B/R passing. PU at first calls nothing, then discusses with the BU and they rule him out. I know it's partly a HTBT situation, but thought on this?
  14. http://mediadownloads.mlb.com/mlbam/mp4/2016/05/28/745389783/1464407061835/asset_1800K.mp4
  15. Line drive off F1 to base umpire

    A batted ball deflects off the pitcher and hits the base umpire in the B or C position, in front of the middle infielders. Is this umpire interference?
  16. mlsalin

    JV high school game: Bases loaded, no outs. Batter hit soft blooper that lands between F1 and F6. Runners hold briefly until clear ball not caught. F6 fields ball, throws to F4 for force. R1 almost to 2B, does not slide, steps on base. Coach of team in field protests, umps confer, call baserunner interference, batter also out (double play) and R2 and R3 back to 2B and 3B. Two questions - (1) Judgement call if F4 had a chance to get runner at first? If not, no interference? (2) Do runners not ruled out really return to bases? Does it depend if they had reached - or nearly reached - the next base (home and 3B)? Does it matter that interference call was not made promptly? Thanks! - Michael
  17. The Batter, while moving out of the Batter's box to avoid a ball pitched in the dirt, unintentionally kicks the ball in foul territory while the ball is on the ground, causing the Catcher to be unable to field the ball and allowing a Runner to score from 3rd Base. What is the call? Is this Interference? Is the Runner allowed to score or sent back to 3rd?
  18. OBS and INT, same runner

    Here's a ruling that was sent to me recently by an authoritative source (no names mentioned to protect...well, probably me). Thoughts?
  19. Textbook INT call ...

    Good stuff right here ....... Your browser does not support iframes.
  20. Interference?

    embed feature not available ........... thoughts? http://m.mlb.com/video/v352918683/?query=interference I think this is why Mattingly is arguing because of the day or so prior ....... Your browser does not support iframes.
  21. Extra Ball on Field

    OBR. No runners. Before the pitch, F8 yells to the dugout that he was paged and has to leave immediately, and begins running off the field. The plate umpire doesn’t realize this, and time is neither requested nor granted. Batter hits a ground ball to F6, who overthrows 1B before the batter runner reaches 1B. The ball rolls toward the 1B dugout, and comes to rest in live ball territory. The batter runner heads for 2B. A defensive substitute planning to take over at centerfield exits the dugout. (Yes, of course they cannot substitute while the ball is live.) He does not realize the live ball is there, and he discards a different ball that he had been carrying, a few feet away from the live ball. The sub intentionally dropped the ball, but not with intent to confuse. F3 runs over and picks up the wrong ball and throws to 2B for a play on the batter runner. In the umpire’s judgement, if the wrong ball not been there and F3 played the correct ball, the batter runner would have been (a) safe at 2B, or (b) out at 2B. Call it! This is similar to intentional interference by an authorized person, in which case the umpire imposes whatever would have happened without the interference--but the sub wasn't authorized to be out of the dugout, and he didn't touch the live ball.
  22. Obstruction

    typical, run down OBS....always cool to see ..... Your browser does not support iframes.
  23. Pretty sure I botched it

    State Utrip tournament, 13u A's. (outs don't matter) R1. Batter hits a grounder to F6 who is playing closer to third than second. F6 snags the ball and runs over second for the out. Instead of continuing forward (towards right field) from running momentum or stopping to throw to first, F6 does this crazy pivot thing and ends up behind second on the left field side. R1, who's now out by about a step, collides with F6 just on the back side of the bag. F6 never looked like he was trying to throw and I don't think a DP would have been possible. I also don't believe R1 had the collision on purpose. I made only the out call and didn't call interference but I'm wondering if I should have. Coach asked about it after the inning (two outs later) and I explained to him that since a double play wasn't possible and R1 was already out then there wasn't anything to call. He agreed and we played on. Game ended by run rule so the call didn't matter to the game but it matters to me. Did I get it right?
  24. http://m.mlb.com/video/v247933683 Agree with call here?
  25. INT on a double play - Joe West

    Looks to me that JD could have easily reached second ................. discuss (and no, I'm not posting this because I live in Detroit and this went against the Tigers) embed feature not available on this replay http://m.mlb.com/video/v241477483/?query=interference