Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'hbp'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Umpire-Empire
    • Introductions
    • Ask the Umpire
    • Minor League Baseball Umpire Training Academy
    • Umpire-Empire
    • Memberships
    • Announcements & Milestones
    • Buy, Sell or Trade
  • Speak out
    • Free For All
    • Situations
    • Umpire Mechanics
    • Rules
    • Ejections
    • Umpire Equipment
    • Books
    • War Stories
  • Umpire News
    • Quick Tips
    • Close Call Sports/ Umpire Ejection Fantasy League
    • Umpire News From Around the Web
    • Ump-Attire.com
  • Level of Play
    • High School
    • Collegiate
    • Recreation
    • Professional
    • Softball
    • Cooperstown Dream Park
  • Off-Topic
    • Off-Topic/Funny Stories
    • Photography
    • Humor
    • Other Sports
    • Announcers

Product Groups

  • Memberships
  • Umpire-Empire Items
  • Cooperstown Dream Park Posting/Advertisement

Categories

  • Interviews
  • Equipment
  • Game Management
  • Self Improvement
  • Health & Fitness
  • Miscellaneous
  • Get to Know

Categories

  • Equipment
    • Chest Protectors
    • Hockey Style Masks
    • Traditional Masks
    • Plate Shoes
    • Base Shoes
    • Shin Guards
    • Athletic Cups
    • Mask Pads
    • Other Equipment
  • Umpire Accessories
    • Equipment Bags
    • Indicators
    • Ball Bags
    • Line up card holders
    • Sunglasses
    • Other Accessories
  • Uniforms
    • Umpire Shirts
    • Umpire Pants
    • Undergarmets
    • Umpire Jackets/ Plate Coats
    • Umpire Caps
  • Suppliers
  • Umpire Manuals, Rules/Interpretation Manuals, Mechanics Manuals
  • Umpire Camps & Clinics
  • Books (pleasure reading)
  • Products no longer available for retail sale

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


AIM


MSN


Website URL


ICQ


Yahoo


Jabber


Skype


Location


Interests


Your Association Name


Occupation


Types/Levels of Baseball called

Found 12 results

  1. FleasOf1000Camels

    Should I have got involved?

    12u under OBR. I am in 'C' with runners at 1st and 2nd. Batter squares to bunt, pitch is WAY inside, pitch hits batter in the stomach. Partner calls TIME and tells batter to take first. All sounds fine, EXCEPT the batter CLEARLY offered at the pitch. DC politely approached plate and conversation goes like this: DC: Sir, didn't he offer at the pitch? PU: Coach, the batter was hit by the pitch. DC: Yes, I know that, but didn't he offer at the pitch? PU: No. DC: Can you check with your partner? PU: No, that's not an appealable call. I know the initial call is his, and I'm only to get involved if HE asks for help...but when he is mistaken on a point of rule (as opposed to judgment) should I have done anything? I had been trying throughout the entire time to quietly get his attention, to let him know I had info he ought to know. The coach walked back to the dugout scratching his head.
  2. Mad Mike

    How Would You Handle This?

    OBR Rule Set. Bases loaded, no outs. Count 1-2 on batter. Low pitch comes in, skips the dirt, catcher blocks the ball and it then touches the batter. Batter does not swing at pitch and begins to jog to first base-presumably believing he was hit by the pitch. Unfortunately, umps don't kill it before this goes down......baserunners all begin to advance at a leisurely trot. Runner on third scores. Keep in mind TIME has not been called. The other runners advance to second and third respectively. Question: How would you handle this when the defensive coach indicates that the Batter-Runners actions deceived the defense? He wants to know why there is no penalty for the BR doing this. Now, it is incumbent on the defense to know the status of the ball. The catcher simply threw the ball back to the catcher as the runner trotted home. Can/should this be "fixed" in any way, i.e. return all the runners, no score allowed, count now 2-2 or do we allow the score and advances by the runners and the count is now 2-2. Would we warn the batter if he steps out without legal reason(s), he is subject to some penalty--perhaps ejection? Please discuss what option(s), if any are available. Also, as a twist---what if this were NFHS? Could we get the batter out for stepping out of the box with both feet? (I don't think so, because the pitch has technically ended once it touched the catcher. But I am interested in what you guys think.)
  3. BuckeyeMike

    HBP called by BU

    Interesting scenario tonight. I'm BU........RH P, RH B....pitch audibly/visibly nicks batter on the backside. I raise my hands expecting the PU to call HBP. I could hear it and I saw it. PU does nothing and I immediately lower my hands, but it was too late.....the defense saw that I had something. The catcher/coach convinces the PU to come to me and he asks if I have an HBP. I say "YES. I saw it and I heard it, no question." We award, opposite coach comes out, respectful/short discussion, and we play on. My question is (and I think I know the answer): 1) Did I mess up as a BU signaling a call normally reserved for the PU? 2) If I hadn't raised my hands nor been called on it by the defense, should I have gone to him on my own to let him know what I had? It was obvious to ME (b/c I heard it and saw it)
  4. Richvee

    Perfecto lost

    Anyone keeping Tabata at the plate?? http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/43487246/v182371383/?c_id=mlb
  5. kylehutson

    HBP like a boss

    Saw this on another site. This is how you take a pitch thrown at you... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z2RuUIumOJg
  6. MIZUMP

    Batter "shows" you his HBP

    Hypothetical: Inside pitch. Batter checks his swing. Sounds/looks like it got the bat and you signal a foul ball. Batter pleads that he was hit by the pitch. He comes to you to show stitches or any marking that he was hit by the pitch. What do you do? Stick with your call? Use the evidence and award him first? What is the SOP for that situation?
  7. Thunderheads

    How does this call stand?

    How does this call stand ...........?   He offers, the ball hits his bat then his hand almost at the same time, ...yes?   http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/63817564/v34718117
  8. Thunderheads

    HBP - Tigers vs. A's

    Ok ...wierd one ...   ball hits Jaso in the forearm no doubt, but it's tough to see, and it hits just right where it sounds like the bat ....upon further inspection.... HBP (ruled properly) w/ the knot on Jaso's arm.   My question .........why did Jaso just stand there ???   http://m.mlb.com/video/v33225635
  9. BuckeyeMike

    Thank You U-E

    18U Legion game......had a batter swing at a ball that hit him as R1 was stealing. Batter missed, R1 ends up on 2B. Thanks to you guys, i was VERY confident and immediate with my call: Dead ball strike, R1 goes back to 1st. Heard some grumbling from 1 or 2 in the crowd, but they had the gonads to seek me out after the game and tell me they looked the rule up online and my ruling was correct. Felt good. Thanks.
  10. Thunderheads

    2 incidents with DJ Reyburn

    First .... A crazy play resulting in a play at the plate.  Does he miss this because he was moving? http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=28114933 http://wapc.mlb.com/play?content_id=28114933       Also, later, ..... DJ get's a 99mph fastball to the ankle.....   http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=28119443 http://wapc.mlb.com/play?content_id=28119443         UPDATED THE FIRST VIDEO ....I found it .....
  11. cearle23

    Hit By Pitch

    In a high school rec league game (NFHS rules) recently a right handed batter on an inside pitch started to bail and in the process removed his left hand from the bat, the pitch then hit him in the hand not contacting the bat, the pitch was out of the strike zone at the time of it contacting the batter. Is this a HBP or should it be called a ball? Rule 7-3-4 does not allow a batter to permit a pitched ball to touch him. Penalty being the batter remains at bat with the pitch being a ball or a strike, but the movement did not seem to be an intentional action, so is it judgement if the batter "permits" the ball to touch him? The rule does not say anything about intent... Thanks in advance.
  12. Thunderheads

    You can't pull that crap on Laz!!!

    http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=26812235&topic_id=&c_id=mlb&tcid=vpp_copy_26812235&v=3  
×