Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'force play'.
Found 2 results
How would you handle this? NFHS Bases Loaded, 2 outs, high pop fly to short-stop. Runners going on contact. R2 clips shortstop. Umpire rules interference; however, R3 had crossed plate before interference was called. I have a group that is giving different answers: Timing Play (score the run), R2 forced to advance and interferes (thus treat as force out on the interfering runner) no run scores, or no run can score on interference-ball is dead--call interfering runner out, inning over with no runs scoring. If there were less than 2 out, return all runners TOP--call interfering runner out, BR goes to first. What is the best rule reference for this situation?
I read a comment on here from a prominent poster saying that all forces are forward implying that there are no forces "backwards" in the base path. Sharp fly ball to shallow centerfield. Runner on second heads to third. Centerfielder makes a heroic dive to catch the fly and pops up and throws successfully to second. Runner is retreating to second and gets back to the bag before he is tagged but not before the bag is tagged. Runner out? Yes or no? Thanks!