Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'disengaged'.
Found 1 result
Searching for something else in the FED interps, I ran across this. It was probably discussed before, but I either don't remember it or never saw it. SITUATION 17: A left-handed pitcher attempts to pick-off the runner at first base. Simultaneously with his throw, the pitcher picks up his pivot foot and places it behind the pitcher’s plate. The throw bounces off the first baseman’s glove and goes into dead-ball territory. The base umpire awards the runner third base, ruling that the pitcher was an infielder and the award is two bases. RULING: The award should be second base; only one base. The status of the pitcher at the time he made the attempted pick-off throw was still that of a pitcher, not an infielder. After the pitcher places his pivot foot on the ground clearly behind the pitcher’s plate, his status then changes to that of an infielder. Moving his pivot foot at the same time he attempts the pick-off does not change his status as a pitcher. (6-1-3, 8-3-3d) Wouldn't this be a balk? If his pivot foot hasn't touched the ground yet, he can't separate his hands. Not to mention, if he hasn't stepped off the back, wouldn't he have to step towards 1B?