Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

alex7

Established Member
  • Content count

    691
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    4

alex7 last won the day on February 26 2017

alex7 had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

219 Good

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Southern Oregon
  • Interests
    teaching, umpiring, family time.

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    RVUA, NCUA, GVC, GWL
  • Occupation
    Education
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    HS, NCAA, NAIA

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. alex7

    NCAA Exam Thread

    I ruled C and have heard this play discussed by Hiler, fwiw. If he goes out of his way during an attempted tag (not what's happening in the video), now you have a different situation with an out of the baseline call.
  2. alex7

    NCAA Exam Thread

    Video question with the missed bunt and back-pick at 2nd base. a. Batter is automatically out for stepping out of the batter’s box. b. Batter is not out if any runner attempting to advance is put out. c. On a pickoff play at any base, the defensive player must clearly have possession of the ball before blocking the base. f. b and c only. I know C is right, but B is sitting there tempting me because IF we're talking about calling the batter out for interference, then yes, it's ignored. Just wish it said "Batter is not out for interference if any runner..." But, of course, it doesn't, AND there's the B and C option.
  3. alex7

    Play at the Plate - Discuss

    that's where I'm getting stuck, as I see the catcher protected with the it shall not be considered a violation if the catcher blocks the pathway of the runner in a legitimate attempt to field the throw, (e.g., in reaction to the direction, trajectory or the hop of the incoming throw. It seems the bobble of the ball is still part of the legitimate attempt to field the ball based on the hop, so I'm not seeing the obstruction here. I can't tell if Maven is saying the same thing with his quote at the end of his great post, or if that's what he's replying to and essentially arguing against the highlighted part of the rule.
  4. alex7

    Illegal Feint?

    coach pitch. I'm more impressed he's found a way to call SOME!
  5. alex7

    ISO: Plate Coat

    I found one just this January through a California umpire association website (I think it was CBUA) store that was selling their left-overs. Black, not as high quality as the MLB ones, but still worthwhile. Took me forever to find it, literally scouring random links in random association sites, but it's doable.
  6. alex7

    Anyone have RLI here?

    at 6:43 he's on the grass. At 6:45 he's still not in the lane. Those that have nothing, I'm not sure why.
  7. alex7

    High Strike Video

    I've been grabbing them so far this season, and the coaches and hitters do seem to simply adjust after the first one or two, especially if you're fortunate enough to get one in the first few innings. It's a little more difficult if the first one you see up there is in the 5th and no one expects it yet. But yes, only if the majority of us are grabbing it will the expectations adapt. And I'm on board with @kstrunk in my thinking - it's an absolute hitter's pitch, a mistake pitch that deserves to be crushed. You don't even bother to swing? Yikes. Strike!
  8. alex7

    Anyone have RLI here?

    Comment begins with "...looks like the BR runs the entire way in fair territory." Comment ends with "...this is a good time to say 'That's nothing!'"
  9. alex7

    No brackets

    And THAT, my friends, is why I won't work D1 baseball.
  10. alex7

    Hockey Style Mask

    lol, I think what they're telling you is that the reason he forgot to put his mask back on is because he previously took a hard direct shot WITH the mask on. Thus the title of the video.
  11. alex7

    ISO Mizuno Shovel

    @gnhbua93 is going to sponsor me. So long as every question I'm asked is answered by something to do with Force 3, he's taking care of my tuition.
  12. alex7

    ISO Mizuno Shovel

    @BT_Blue Arik, tell your wife you're picking me up on your way down to BBUC and we're splitting all the costs! About time I go to another one.
  13. Rocked them Friday for a DH. Sooooo comfy still, and with the Leather Luster shine put on them 6 years ago, they still pop under the lights. Will keep looking on Ebay for more.
  14. that seems like a fair price. They sell for about $130-160 new at online retailers.
  15. Would love some feedback on this situation I had yesterday: R2, R3, 2 outs. BR gets a basehit, R3 scores but I see him miss the plate. R2 rounds 3rd, the 1b takes the relay throw and guns it to the 3b. Base umpires calls R2 safe at third. Now I see R3, who knew he missed home, come back and touch it. My question: Had my base umpire called R2 out for out #3, would I still score the run because of the general rule that a base is obtained by a R passing it (if missed), or would R2's obvious attempt at fixing his mistake be treated like an appeal and a timing play, meaning the run would not score because the third out was made prior to his touching home plate? ncaa game, if that matters for rules.
×