Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

noumpere

Established Member
  • Content Count

    9,498
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    108

Everything posted by noumpere

  1. noumpere

    Error on Out Call

    Here's a relevant case play (I thought I remembered one that had the same situation as the OP, but I can't find it right now). 10.2.3 SITUATION I: With a count of three balls and two strikes on B1 and no runners on base, the pitch is made and the batter takes what appears to be a half swing. The plate umpire calls ball four as the ball gets away from F2. B1 trots to first base and F2 throws the ball to F3, who tags B1 prior to his reaching the base. F2 asks the plate umpire to check with the base umpire to see if it was a strike. The base umpire indicates that B1 did swing at the ball. RULING: If, in the judgment of the umpire-in-chief, B1 would have reached first base before the throw if it had not been called ball four, the plate umpire can award B1 first base. The umpire-in-chief can rectify any situation in which an umpire's decision has placed a batter-runner in jeopardy. Advances and outs made by runners following a reversed call stand, if the call that was changed clearly did not place them in jeopardy.
  2. From J/R (bolded to highlight items relevant to this thread): However, it is not catcher's interference if the batter (1) steps outside the batter's box and he or his bat strikes the catcher. (2) throws his bat at, and strikes, the catcher. (3) uses his bat to intentionally strike the catcher on foul territory (tries to hit the catcher versus the pitch). (4) swings, but does not strike the catcher, who is on foul territory. (5) completely gives up his opportunity to swing or bunt at a pitch. (6) accidentally strikes the catcher with his bat during a practice swing while the pitcher prepares to pitch.
  3. noumpere

    Batting around

    It is not a defined term, so it can mean anything you want it to mean.
  4. noumpere

    2 Man - U1 with R3 or R2/R3

    Several different philosophies on this: 1) B when a steal of second is possible; otherwise C 2) C when a steal of third is possible; otherwise B 3) C whenever there's an R2 or an R3 1 is best (imo) if the umpires can move -- so it's the CCA mechanic 2 is best if you cna't trust the umpires to move, so you see it in some FED and lower level mechanics 3 is best at lower levels because it's easier to teach and because there are so many more pickoffs at second or third and the R1-R3 "steal" is almost a given with no play *or* a subsequent play on R3. Some do switch from 1 to 2 with two outs -- it's a similar philosophy to the 3-man positioning changing with two outs
  5. noumpere

    Obstruction Awarding of bases

    The umpire should call OBS when it happens. I don't really follow the rest of your logic (probably my fault).
  6. noumpere

    Cursing

    Some leagues have a strict ruling on this; maybe the umpire usually works that league. But, it's all subjective; while I don't have the same stance as the umpire in this play, at least the umpire took the time to explain it so you weren't surprised b the first ejection.
  7. noumpere

    Out of bounds, base awards

    Not true. You advance the lead runner first, and subsequent runners must "hold up" if needed. The subsequent runner cannot "force" a runner to be awarded more basese than allowed by rule. Note that if OBS was the issue, a leading runner can be forced (in some circumstances).
  8. noumpere

    Better Mechanics for solo umpiring

    You can't steal what is a gift.
  9. Unless your league requires otherwise, you should follow this same standard when working 2-man or solo.
  10. noumpere

    Infield Fly Rule

    Your initial labeling was correct. R1 starts at first; R3 starts at third.
  11. noumpere

    Out of bounds, base awards

    Two bases TOP, so 2nd and 3rd -- just as if the ball had gone Out Of Play If ti wasnt' the momentum, but F9 stepped OOP, then two bases from the step.
  12. noumpere

    Girls Softball

    I'd give the same answers for baseball.
  13. noumpere

    Better Mechanics for solo umpiring

    Disagree. If the coaches ask "are you by yourself today?" I just respond, "Not the worst partner I've ever had."
  14. noumpere

    Infield Fly Rule

    A good laugh (hopefully with both coaches), and a reminder of why youth sports *can be* so much fun. Small recompense for lots of the crap we put up with.
  15. noumpere

    Balk or not

    Having the foot on top of the rubber is a legal pitching position (assuming the other requirements are met). So, a pitcher touching the top must be engaged; therefore. moving the pivot foot from "in front and touching" to "on top" is not a legal disengagement. How well it's seen / enforced is a slightly different matter.
  16. noumpere

    Can a # outs cause a protest

    How does it even get this far? The scorer is responsible for the number of outs, and it should be easy to check this in the official book.
  17. noumpere

    runner interference

    True under "pure" OBR, played by grown men, At youth games played under OBR, I'm using the FED and NCAA interp.
  18. noumpere

    Pick off move on the way to set

    USed to be true in college. They changed it (to match the other codes) probably more than 10 years ago.
  19. noumpere

    Girls fastpitch softball

    A couple of possibilities: The players are younger and steals of home are not allowed in that league. The runner on third was slow. It's hard to do and not worth the risk of an out. (probably more) And, you see R1 advancing to second without R3 attempting to score many times in baseball as well.
  20. noumpere

    Pick off move on the way to set

    It's hard to tell from your description, but if the foot was moving "bacK" toward the rubber and he then spun off that foot, it's a balk for not stepping toward first. The free foot needs to end up closer to first than from where it started.
  21. noumpere

    Can't change a strike but, Holy !@#$

    My thoughts are that I hope your partner learned a lesson about lying to a coach and about how to dela with a coach arguing balls and strikes. We've all had to learn that lesson at one point or another.
  22. noumpere

    Balk or not

    A jump throw is considered to be a move from the rubber.
  23. noumpere

    Pick off move on the way to set

    Must come to a stop before throwing a pitch. A pick off is not a pitch. From OBR: 6.02 Pitcher Illegal Action (a) Balks If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when: (13) The pitcher delivers the pitch from Set Position without coming to a stop.
  24. noumpere

    Interference or Obstruction?

    The different scenarios are just as you described -- BR out if F1 catches the ball; B returns to the plate (with a strike, if it's not strike 3) if it's a foul ball.
  25. noumpere

    Does the run count?

    Agreed--except that there might still be one state where the umpire declares R3 out in HS ball (I don't work that state so I forget whether they've changed the rule).
×