Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

noumpere

Established Member
  • Content Count

    9,502
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    109

Everything posted by noumpere

  1. noumpere

    Balk or not

    A jump throw is considered to be a move from the rubber.
  2. noumpere

    Pick off move on the way to set

    Must come to a stop before throwing a pitch. A pick off is not a pitch. From OBR: 6.02 Pitcher Illegal Action (a) Balks If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when: (13) The pitcher delivers the pitch from Set Position without coming to a stop.
  3. noumpere

    Interference or Obstruction?

    The different scenarios are just as you described -- BR out if F1 catches the ball; B returns to the plate (with a strike, if it's not strike 3) if it's a foul ball.
  4. noumpere

    Does the run count?

    Agreed--except that there might still be one state where the umpire declares R3 out in HS ball (I don't work that state so I forget whether they've changed the rule).
  5. noumpere

    hit by a pitch

    The "hands are not part of the bat" (despite any myth to the contrary), so the regular HBP rules apply. If the batter didn't move into the pitch ro permit himself to be hit, etc -- award him first.
  6. noumpere

    NFHS Rules question

    That's what is in the case play cited in this thread.
  7. noumpere

    What is consider a hit?

    I hope it didn't cost you a contract bonus.
  8. noumpere

    Runner allowed to advance to 3rd??

    #2 -- My guess is that the runner was retreating toward second at TOT and the umpire fell for the "the base he's going to plus one" myth. "#2" is appropriate for this.
  9. noumpere

    Feedback: Game Tracking Website

    If you keep the spreadsheet on google docs or similar (I don't) you could access it across the interwebs. And, I can easily get average games, by sport, by level, and missing payments from the spreadsheet. No macros involved (but I would have to select from the values in each column of course).
  10. noumpere

    Balk or No Balk

    Based on the OP, the pitcher was already in his windup when F2 requested time. I wouldn't grant it them either.
  11. noumpere

    Feedback: Game Tracking Website

    FWIW, I don't really see anything here that couldn't just be a column on a spreadsheet and perhaps a couple of simple macros, so I'm not sure why some other app is needed.
  12. noumpere

    Balk or not

    It's a balk. The free foot does need to clear the rubber -- otherwise it's a move to come set (perhaps for the second time). Se this thread: http://umpire-empire.com/topic/68201-gaining-ground-toward-2nd/ Most of the correct answers / support are on the second page (or some other page, depending on your particular "posts per page" setting).
  13. noumpere

    Interference

    IT could still be nothing -- and that's what I'd have if R1 made it "easily" back to first.
  14. noumpere

    High school game. Balk?

    I'm confused by your description but: IT's legal in HS ball to feint to third from the set position (not from the windup position.) If in doing so, the pivot foot broke contact with the runner (a happens 99% of the time on a feint), the pitcher is now an infielder and can throw home. If he stepped-toward-third-threw-t -home-across-his-body all in one motion, that's a balk.
  15. noumpere

    Interference

    R1 only in the play mentioned. If it is an IFF, then BR is out on the infield fly, and R1 is out for INT.
  16. noumpere

    Interference

    Assuming: F3 is the protected fielder (and not F4) AND the contact is INT (and not incidental),: R1 out; BR at first. If the ball was foul, BR returns to bat with an added strike (if there were less than two to begin with).
  17. noumpere

    Multiple Base Touches

    While that's the stated mechanic, PU can (and should) help out if he's not actively watching a catch at that time. PU is farther away and can see the touches with less eye movement -- but PU should focus on whatever base BU is not actively watching.
  18. noumpere

    Hit By Pitch

    It depends on how you interpret / mean that underlined statement. It is the wording from OBR, but it doesn't mean exactly what it says. I prefer the FED "shall not permit the ball to hit him" -- meaning that if the batter *has a chance* to avoid and doesn't take it, then he stays at the plate. But, if he had no chance to avoid, or was going to get hit anyway, send him to first. Even then, there's lots of judgment involved.
  19. noumpere

    PU Mechs W/ R1

    FWIW (nothing, I know), I hate this mechanic. I prefer "if the batted ball doesn't leave the infield, PU doesn't leave the plate" (and I don't mean "leave" literally -- it means no calls on the bases), and give the next call at third to BU. It's no different from R2, grounder to F6 who looks R2 back, then throws to first and now R2 takes off. BU covers both ends of that, he can cover both ends of R1 heading to third.
  20. noumpere

    Live-ball Appeal Scenario

    Sounds right to me. Especially if the umpire was emphatic (pointing, saying the number, etc) that R2 was out and not R1.
  21. noumpere

    PU Mechs W/ R1

    You can get that after you determine whether the slide at second was legal or illegal (well, if it was illegal, then there's no need to look at first -- BR is out anyway; at least in FED and NCAA).
  22. noumpere

    PU Mechs W/ R1

    I'm curious as to what mechanic you have been using, if not this? You are from TX, so maybe Carl's "mechanics for the 21st century" (or whatever he called them) have crept in.
  23. noumpere

    Pitching Change Requirements

    I seem to recall this is the LL rule. But, I also recall lots of stuff that just ain't so... Either way, a good umpire will stop this before it happens to avoid the complaints from either side (it's just not that hard to see who is approaching the mound and whether thatperson is the same pitcher as last inning and then get the manager's(or even the catcher's) attention before something happens.
  24. noumpere

    2 outs infield fly

    Good answer.
  25. noumpere

    Multiple Base Touches

    Sometomes you just need to read the runner and try to decide who is most likley to miss, and who is most likley to gain an advantage by missing. In this play, R2 will score easily. BR might have to hustle to get a triple -- he's the one most likely to miss the base. If it was just a single, then R2 might have to hustle to score -- he's the one most likely to miss. And, it's almost never necessary (with one ump and multiple runners) to see a runner who is scoring without a play touch the plate -- you will be hustling out for a subsequent play on another runner. Finally, you only need to see the touch for the briefest of moments -- I've seen some umpires stare at the runner / base for a couple of strides before the base and after the base. That's too long. Look at something else. All that said, sometimes things get missed with one umpire.
×