Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

SavoyBG

Inactive
  • Content Count

    30
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

2 Neutral

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Bergen County Umpires Association
  • Occupation
    self employed
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    High school, semi-pro
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Other (explain below)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Here in NJ if he has an assistant who can run the team then he has to leave out of sight and sound. If he is alone as a coach, like maybe a Freshman game on the road, he can go somewhere away from the infield, but where he can still see the game, since he is still responsible for supervising the kids.
  2. SavoyBG

    What's The Call?

    Here's what Scott Tittrington at Referee Mag had to say: I believe this falls under rule 8-4-2k. If a runner is contacted by a fair batted ball before it touches an infielder, or after it passes any infielder, except the pitcher, and the umpire is convinced that another fielder has a play, the runner is out. So, in layman’s terms, it depends on where the first baseman actually was. If the ball was in front of him, the runner should be out. If the ball was behind him, and another infielder had a chance to make a play on it (maybe the second baseman in this case), the runner is out. If the ball was behind the first baseman and no one else in the umpire’s view had a play, the runner is safe. Interference does not come into play as no play was being made on the ball at the moment it hit the runner. This is what our other baseball guy in the office came up with along with my input. Thanks, Scott
  3. SavoyBG

    What's The Call?

    You mean they don't make Chicken Savoy in Wyoming?
  4. SavoyBG

    What's The Call?

    Here's where I am at now with the original play in this thread. It seems that in Federation the call would hinge on whether or not the ball had "passed" the 1Bman before it hit the batter-runner. This is because Federation does not distinguish between the batter-runner and a runner getting hit by a batted ball. If I had judged the ball to have passed the 1Bban, AND no other fielder had a play, then the batter-runner would not be out. In the NCAA I see no way around their rule that specifically is for a better-runner being hit by a fair batted ball, and he'd have to be out. So the question becomes, exactly what does "passed the fielder" mean. Does it have to pass him going towards the outfield, or can it pass him in the air going laterally? My friend Jon Levinson is the NCAA National Women's Basketball Interpreter, and he also proofreads for Referee Magazine. He's gonna see about getting a national ruling for me at various levels.
  5. SavoyBG

    bunted ball hit by the bat

    So if the batter's helmet comes off as he starts running and the helmet contacts the ball and knocks it foul, it would be foul?
  6. SavoyBG

    What's The Call?

    Just let it be known that Junior Soprano lives right behind my house on Watsessing Ave in Belleville.
  7. SavoyBG

    What's The Call?

    No, I'm still open as to whether or not the no out call was correct on the popup, but since EVERY Fed interpreter here in NJ says it was, then for the purposes of that call in that game, I made what is considered the correct call here in NJ. On the play as to whether or not that run counts, only the state interpreter says no. The other 3 regional interpreters I spoke too (including my chapter guy) say it does not count. I think there's a good chance that if we got them all together that they could get the state interpreter to reverse his ruling after discussing the play. I don't see why it would not be treated the same as any other missed base.
  8. SavoyBG

    What's The Call?

    I am against there even being moderators. People should say whatever like want, like on Usenet, unless they are committing a crime.
  9. SavoyBG

    What's The Call?

    Oh no! You mean this is another one of those places where the moderators get all crazy over stupid SH*#?
  10. SavoyBG

    bunted ball hit by the bat

    It's amazing how many rules have a very different ruling under various rulebooks. So in Fed the ball is still live. It seems like if the bat hits the ball in fair territory and knocks the ball into foul territory that it would be a foul ball.
  11. SavoyBG

    What's The Call?

    If you're that sensitive, Beer, umpiring is probably not for you.
  12. SavoyBG

    What's The Call?

    So if the ball has stopped moving and is just sitting on the ground and the batter runner is already at first base and a fielder runs over and picks it up, you are saying that the fielder" had a play?"
  13. SavoyBG

    What's The Call?

    Another play that I had last year in a high school game. Two outs, bases loaded. Base hit to the outfield, first runner scores. Second runner crosses the plate but does not touch the plate. The runner from 1B then gets thrown out at 3B to end the inning. After the out, the runner who missed the plate touches the plate on his way to the dugout. Does the run count, do they have to appeal, what? The team did not appeal, but the NJ state interpreter claims that you don't count the run because the runner did not touch the plate before the third out. I disagree. My chapter interpreter sees it my way. The run counts unless the team appeals before all the infielders have left the field. The fact that he went back and touched the plate means nothing, as he can't do that after the third out has been recorded. I think you treat it like any other missed base. The defense has to appeal, otherwise it is assumed that he touches base and the run counts. I found this approved ruling for MLB, and the run counts unless the defense appeals.
×