Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Vegas_Ump

Members
  • Content Count

    16
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

2 Neutral

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Clark Co. Umpire Assn
  • Occupation
    USAF Retired
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Little League Baseball & Softball
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Vegas_Ump

    Rulebook in your face?

    My ejection last week was not nearly as exciting as the one where just about everybody got ejected! But my sitch did beg a question. [AAA Little League.] First, HT up, botton 2nd, 2 outs. 4-3 play, but F4 booted it and then F3 stretched to make the catch on a banger. Field Ump ruled out, but 1B coach asked him too get help. Field ump told me he was not 100% sure that F3 didn't pull his foot, so what did I see? I told him, yes, the foot clearly had 3 inches of daylight. Field ump changed the call to safe. Bottom of the second continues. As HT bats, we had Charlie at bat, but Baker was the proper batter. 1B coach recognized this, called time, and brought this to my attention. I called Baker out of the dugout to inherit a 1-2 count. VTM went ballistic and said it should have been an out. HT is eventually retired. Between innings VTM comes running out and wants to get in my face about the pulled foot call. (First, it was way late!) But I told him that's what I saw, and it's a judgement call. Then he says, "Well your judgement on the strike zone is really bad too!" I gave him a warning for arguing judgment calls. He says, "Well, you better go ahead and give me a second warning!" I said, "No coach! You're gone!" The embroglio settled down as the 3rd inning started. He had ejected himself out of the game. Between innings, the acting VTM came out with a rule book in his hand opened to the Able-Baker-Charlie BOO rule. I told him he needs to read it, and he would see that I ruled correctly. At that point, I wondered about any manager or coach who comes and shoves a rulebook in my face. (I ejected a coach out of a State Tournament several years ago for doing just that.) To me, a rulebook-in-the-face is grounds for an automatic ejection. In this case, however, I did not want to pick up that end off the stick, since the VT was already down to 2 adults. I think under normal circumstances, I would toss the guy. And he was not being belligerent, and I was willing to chalk this one up to his inexperience. So, how do you feel about having a rulebook shoved in your face? Mike Las Vegas
  2. Vegas_Ump

    Thrown bat rule at plate meeting

    So, how did the protest turn out? This is clearly a misapplication of the rules. Mike
  3. This sounds much like the 7.13 rule in Little League. The overwhelming guidance is based on the fact that the offense violated a rule and should be penalized. So if the ball pings around or goes out of play, the batter is still only going to get first base. All other runners return, except R3 who is retired to the dugout. He's not out, but he cannot score. He goes "Poof!" Yes, it goes against logic that if the defense errs, they should have to deal with the consequences; but the offense committed a violation before the ball was hit. They have to suffer. Mike Las Vegas
  4. Vegas_Ump

    First time I've ever seen this one

    I think your instincts are correct! If--on the play--the batter or batter-runner is retired IN ANY MANNER before he legally attains first base for the third out, no runs score. Also got to ask under the FED ruling above, if R3's run scores OK, WHICH teammate is out? Do you get to choose R2 (being the next closest runner to home) or the batter? Mike Las Vegas
  5. Vegas_Ump

    LLWS

    In regard to 1blx vs 3blx. All the training I have had says that as a play at the plate develops, start at the point-of-the-plate and move around to the 3blx with the idea that your chest should be square to the catcher's mitt at least initially. You then have to move to your angle position based on where the throw is coming from. But you have to see the mitt, the plate, the runner's foot, and the ball. That having been said, I recall my days when I was starting out as an umpire on 60' fields that had a backstop very close to home plate. There really was no time to get around to 3blx on a PB/WP unless the ball was pinging around towards the sides. (Then R3 had an easy score anyway.) In fact, guys who tried to get to the 3blx might actually block a throw from F2 to F1 covering! Point is, you developed a lot of bad habits that are not consistent with the training provided because of the time factor on a small field. Move to a larger stadium, and you will have a ton of time to get around. You are just not used to it. Just an opinion. Mike Las Vegas
  6. Vegas_Ump

    LL Umpire calls B&S from behind Pitcher?

    In 60' baseball or softball, I cut my teeth as an umpire by doing a lot of single-man games from behind the plate. I had to hustle on all the plays, and it was a good training device. Sure, you might miss a banger here and there, but if the league really wanted two umpires for every 60' game, they'd get some of the parents off their avoirdupois and get them some training. Being a volunteer ump means a lot of to the kids. I was field ump in a 90' game when the PU was called away. (He was a First Responder.) So I finished the game standing behind the pitcher. I tried to get the best sight-picture I could, and I felt I was consistent. What more can you ask? Mike Las Vegas
  7. Vegas_Ump

    Who is out?

    Noooooo! Who's on first! (Arrrgh! Just could not resist that!) OK, so you need to sell the call on R1 being out for passing. "Number 22 is out for passing!" (Repeat several times!) In this way, that runner would know she's out and should no longer get involved in further play. (And the ball remains in play at this point.) [Your call was correct.] Also, by sounding off, you have done your best to inform R2 and the 3B coacher what's going on. Perhaps she them would not have been thrown out at home, but punish stupidity whenever possible. JMO Mike Las Vegas
  8. Vegas_Ump

    Multiple appeals

    Steve, a general point that can be a good training tool. There is a possible way that 10 appeals can be made at a single time? Can you figure that out? 1. An appeal on one runner at one base is NOT an intervening play. (Hint: Therefore other appeals can be attempted.) 2. You cannot appeal the same runner at the same base more than once. 3. You can appeal an advantageous 4th out: for instance, BR misses 1B, and R3 scores, then R2 is thrown out at the plate for out #3. An appeal on the BR (not achieving 1B legally) as a 4th out means that NO RUNS SCORE! 4. It's important to know which rule set you are using, as in OBR the ball must be in play, but other books require only the appeal itself regardless of if the ball is in play or not. (Check your local listings!) 5. A lot of people THINK a failure to tag up after caught fly ball is a FORCE OUT! No, it isn't! It's an appeal play. [Overheard in a game: 3b coach - "Hey Blue (PU), I appeal to you!" (on a banger at first.) PU: "No coach, you are ugly as sin!" LOL!] Mike Las Vegas
  9. Saw this today! <sigh!> https://www.sfchronicle.com/sports/article/Computer-to-call-balls-and-strikes-in-minor-league-13673538.php Mike Las Vegas
  10. Vegas_Ump

    The lengths parents go to

    I do Little League here in Las Vegas, and the parents take the game very seriously. I have seen umpires do the old trick of going outside into the stands and sitting next to some toad who's got the mouth. "Yes, you really can see better from here!" But I have seen things deteriorate where assistant coaches with testosterone got into it, and the fans got ridiculous. I cleared the field and had a polite conference with the managers. I told them that we could let the kids determine the outcome of the game or I could suspend it and let the BOD decide. The managers respected me enough to correct the deportment of their fans. I did a Nevada State tournament representing my District. Our teams were in all 3 60-foot finals. And they lost them all! I had 1B in the 10-11 game. 2 outs, F4 booted ball and threw late to first. BR's foot was standing straight up on the bag when the ball arrived. SAFE! Oh man! The fans went wild, as to why--as an umpire from their district--I didn't cut them a break? Next batter hit a 2-run HR. And then the wheels fell off the wagon! I would never consider exercising my rights under my CCW permit, but I wonder if anyone has had to get law enforcement involved? Mike Las Vegas, NV
  11. Vegas_Ump

    Tantrum

    SItch: Top 6th (LL Majors). HT behind by 1 run. Pitcher does NOT like my zone, and he is demonstrating histrionics on each pitch! Bottom 6th: HT gets two runners on with 2 out. My buddy (F1) comes to bat. First pitch outside. Ball. (easy call). Second pitch catches the corner, Strike one. Batter steps out and gives me a really dirty look! (Like, how come he didn't get that one as he was pitching?) Next pitch again on the corner. Strike two! Batter steps out, puts the end of his bat on the ground, other hand on his hip with a really stupid look. I encouraged him to get back into the box. He wouldn't. I gave him a second chance to stand in. He would not take his position. So the ruling went like this: "OK smart guy! I am awarding a directed strike. That's strike three! You are out. That's three outs! The game is over!" I think this was better than an ejection because he and his coach would have to reconcile the fact that he--a good batter--missed the opportunity to tie or win the game, and to intellectually de-pant the kid in front of his team was a better solution! Good news: A year later, this same kid volunteered to be an umpire at the A, AA, and AAA levels. I hear he did a decent job! Good to see him walk a mile in an umpires shoes! Mike
  12. Vegas_Ump

    NASO or ABUA

    I am a Little League Volunteer Umpire (34 years), so that handles my game situations. But there is nothing like NASO to stay informed on rule interpretations and general officiating bearing from all sports. You can learn a lot from Referee magazine. And if some bizarre situation occurs, they have your back. I have been disappointed with AUBA. They have recently tried to upgrade their web site, and it's a disaster! They keep bugging me to pay to renew, and yet I can't navigate anywhere on their website: "OPEN SOON" is all I get. Sorry! A three-month hiatus with no end in site is not encouraging. I don't earn money from officiating, but I love it just the same, and I hope to keep on going for a few more years that I may have left! Cheers! Mike
  13. Vegas_Ump

    Throwing the bat

    There is no paragraph in the rules that says "The batter is out when.......he throws the bat." You might make a case if the batter's actions interfered with a fielder, but that's rare. Now the guy who gets hit the most is the plate ump, and you can warn, then eject, based on safety. I have seen a batter throw a bat like a boomerang that almost went over the fence and drop into the stands. That's dangerous! Give the manager a chance to instruct. But if you have a repeat offender, give him some extra time in the batting cage to practice! Ejection will facilitate that option. Mike Vegas_Ump
  14. Vegas_Ump

    Stoping motion with no runners on.

    No! I called time! I needed to instruct. I did NOT add a ball to the count. Sorry that was not clear. Previously--with the other team at bat--I DID have a sitch where there were runners on, and the pitcher failed to deliver. Point is that the official scorer asked why I didn't increment t a ball when their team was at bat. Basic umpire rule #3: Don't look for trouble! Cheers! Mike
  15. Vegas_Ump

    Stoping motion with no runners on.

    I use LL Rules, which are OBR-based. Rule 8 is pretty confusing, as it does say what infractions can be called, but it is not perfectly clear whether a ball is awarded, it's nothing, or it's a balk call. There are three defined cases where a ball is added to the count if no runners are on: Licking the fingers while on the rubber, doctoring the baseball, and an illegal quick pitch. These are ruled as "illegal pitches", for which a ball is added to the count regardless of runners or not. But just about anything else that would be a balk does not award a ball to the count if there are no runners on. It's nothing. To add to the confusion (in LL 60'), they have defined all "balk" moves as "illegal pitches"; it only matters when there are runners on base, and then you do add a ball to the count and increment the pitcher's pitch count. With no runners on, it's nothing. Last season, I had an OOO official scorer who said I should have incremented a ball (no runners on) because I had called an IP on a guy who stopped his motion. And of course, she shoved the rule book in my face and said "See, it says any illegal pitch is a ball to the count." I decided I was not going to hold a rules clinic for an official scorer/parent of a home team kid. Wondered why the HTM didn't ask........ LOL! I agree with the gent who pointed out the 20-second delay of game award of a ball; but that's not a "pitch" (legal or illegal) and the pitcher's count is not incremented. Vegas Ump
×