Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member


  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won


MT73 last won the day on May 13 2017

MT73 had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

40 Neutral
  1. Balk

    20 points!!! For some reason my spellcheck stinks. Thanks for the information.
  2. softball pitching

    As is slapping the glove against her thigh.
  3. Infield fly rule

    This is a pretty standard test question: Bases loaded--no outs. Batter hits a pop up that umpires call an infield fly. Ball drops to ground, uncaught and all runner take off. Defense throws home, to third and then to 2B and and the bases are all stepped on before the runners arrived. ( Yes, I know, This team has extremely slow runners.) How many outs do we have?? The answer is one. Once the IFF rule is called the batter is out and the force is removed. If the ball is uncaught any and all runners must be tagged for an out.
  4. RI on an attempted DP

    Sounds like a bad throw to me. Did the runner intentionally interfere? Was he doing anything other than running to 1B in the runners lane? Play on.
  5. Gear for slowpitch?

    Just a mask and a cup.
  6. Play at plate UNC-Davidson

    Yes. And in OBR the same now applies if the B/R beats the throw to first base but misses the bag.
  7. Interference

    A batter can never be called out for being struck with a deflected batted ball ( unless intentional) but he can be called for interference if he interferes with a fielder attempting to field a deflected batted ball.
  8. Balk?

    Yes-- your first answer applies.
  9. Half Swing Appeal Rules

    A checked swing appeal has nothing to do with a violation of the rules therefore, by definition, it is not an appeal. Perhaps one day it will be termed what it is-- a request.
  10. Balk?

    Right handed pitcher in the set. In one motion he steps backwards off the rubber and, in the same motion--and without any foot motion towards 1B-- he throws to first base for a pickoff.
  11. Balk?

    I have seen this in the younger divisions. They step back and throw to first---not hard to do in a 50/70 game. Is it legal?
  12. Balk

    I guess I was not clear in my OP. There was never a windup and that has no bearing on my question. F1 is in the set position. Rather than stepping off and then throwing to 1B he steps off the rubber and throws simotaniously. Does this simotanious step now make F1 a fielder who no longer has to gain distance and direction in his move to 1rst or 3rd (OBR)
  13. Balk?

    Pitcher in set position and in one motion steps back from the rubber and throws to first. Did not step to first. Does the step off relieve him of the need to gain distance and direction? Balk?
  14. Question

    A smart fielder would first tag R1 and then step on the base before the B/R gets there. 2 outs. Do the reverse and the B/R is out but R1 is safe if he remained on the bag or dived back after the force.
  15. Half Swing Appeal Rules

    A checked swing "appeal" is not an appeal. Check the definition of what an appeal actually is and how it can be executed. It only involves missing a base or improperly tagging up--or BOO