Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

MR20

Members
  • Content count

    2
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral
  1. MR20

    Interference?

    Thank you Tborze. Unfortunately there isn't any video. Thank you maven. Yes you had the situation correct. MR20
  2. Hi all, the end result of this play was called Interference. Is that the correct call? With the bases loaded and one out, the batter hit a grounder to 3B. The runner from 3B scored. The third basemen fielded the ball and tug 3B for the force out on the runner from 2B (for the 2nd out) and threw the ball to 1B hoping for a double play. However, the throw to 1B was errant and the batter was safe. The runner from 1B went all the way to 3B during this time. Here is where it gets crazy. The runner who was forced out at 3B thought he was safe and ran towards home on the errant throw. The defensive team threw home and the runner was called out (again) for the final out of the inning. The defense left the field. The offensive team realized what happened and argued that the runner couldn't be called out twice. Their stance was that the play should be ruled dead and the batter, who had gone to 2B when the defense threw home, should be returned to 1B and there should still be 2 outs. After a long discussion, the umpires ruled that the runner wasn't out because he was tagged out at home (the second time he'd been called out) but he was out because of interference. That was the final out and end of the inning. Was that the correct call? I had never seen anything like it before. Thank you, Mike
×