Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Jakester5112

Members
  • Content count

    13
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Jakester5112

  1. Nice! I was referring to my age though... don't worry about that
  2. Ha! What state are you in? (look at my profile )
  3. Yep! Continuous motion only applies when the pitcher has the ball in the circle AND isn't making a play on a runner. It's fair game when the ball isn't in the circle.
  4. Is this "play on"?

    Let me first state that I exclusively umpire for softball, so if this is incorrect, I apologize. Here is the softball rule: "If a retired runner interferes and, in the judgment of the Umpire, another runner could have been put out, the Umpire shall declare the runner closest to home out." Sounds like interference in this case, but no opportunity to put R3 out (because he would've stayed at third presumably), so just a dead ball with no outs other than the BR.
  5. Fan interference?

    Yes, you are correct and I could've worded my answer a little better.
  6. Batters interference, what is a play

    I do softball, and no throw is required. The batter hindered the fielder from making a play (even if just an opportunity to make a play), so the batter is out and the runner is sent back to 2nd.
  7. Horrible news - @grayhawk

    I just joined this site and don't know anyone here too well, but this is horrible news. Best wishes to him and his family, and I am hoping he gets back to full strength soon.
  8. Fan interference?

    Interference with an out on the fly ball. Runners return to the base at the time of the pitch. If the umpire judged the ball wouldn't have been caught without interference, they should award the runners and batter the positions they would have reached.
  9. Appeal process gone awry

    Yes, that is correct. In this case, since the catcher is making a play on the fielder by appealing, interference by the batter would make them out. That does make me wonder, if the pitcher is switching balls for whatever reason and the batter hits the catcher, would you rule that interference?
  10. Appeal process gone awry

    In my personal opinion (I umpire ASA softball), I would not rule this an illegal pitch, because the intention to pitch is simply not there. However, there is no need for the pitcher to throw home because a dead ball verbal appeal can be made. This whole situation could've been avoided had the players and coaches known the rules. The interference ruling is a bit trickier. The rulebook says it's interference if the batter interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by making a movement which hinders action at home or the catcher's attempt to play on a runner. I do not believe there is a play being made on the runner because 1) it is a dead ball and 2) dead ball appeals don't need a physical play. My ruling would be based on whether I deemed the interference intentional. If yes, the batter is out and ejected for malicious contact. If no, dismiss it as incidental and award no penalties.
  11. Appeal process gone awry

    You are right. I missed the part about them trying for the appeal. Also, if they legally step off, there isn't an illegal pitch. Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
  12. Appeal process gone awry

    It's an illegal pitch, a delayed dead ball, and can be hit. Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
  13. Appeal process gone awry

    No timeout should be called unless the catcher is seriously hurt. Otherwise, it's catcher's obstruction and you play on. It is an illegal pitch, but it's a delayed dead ball and can be hit. If all runners advanced one base safely and runner reaches first, the result stands. Otherwise, the coach can choose to award the batter with a ball and advance the runners one base or take the result of the play, which would be catcher's obstruction. Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
×