Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Jakester5112

Members
  • Content count

    16
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About Jakester5112

  • Birthday 04/02/2003

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Alamo, CA
  • Interests
    3D Printing, Umpiring

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    USSSA Fastpitch, SRVGAL (Rec League)
  • Occupation
    Student
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Travel, Rec
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Jakester5112

    FS: 12" (M/L) West Vest Gold

    Definitely interested. Thanks for checking that out! Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
  2. Jakester5112

    FS: 12" (M/L) West Vest Gold

    Shipping is pretty expensive, isn't it? Something like $35?
  3. Jakester5112

    FS: 12" (M/L) West Vest Gold

    Nice deal. Would definitely buy if you weren't in Canada.
  4. Nice! I was referring to my age though... don't worry about that
  5. Ha! What state are you in? (look at my profile )
  6. Yep! Continuous motion only applies when the pitcher has the ball in the circle AND isn't making a play on a runner. It's fair game when the ball isn't in the circle.
  7. Jakester5112

    Is this "play on"?

    Let me first state that I exclusively umpire for softball, so if this is incorrect, I apologize. Here is the softball rule: "If a retired runner interferes and, in the judgment of the Umpire, another runner could have been put out, the Umpire shall declare the runner closest to home out." Sounds like interference in this case, but no opportunity to put R3 out (because he would've stayed at third presumably), so just a dead ball with no outs other than the BR.
  8. Jakester5112

    Fan interference?

    Yes, you are correct and I could've worded my answer a little better.
  9. Jakester5112

    Batters interference, what is a play

    I do softball, and no throw is required. The batter hindered the fielder from making a play (even if just an opportunity to make a play), so the batter is out and the runner is sent back to 2nd.
  10. Jakester5112

    Horrible news - @grayhawk

    I just joined this site and don't know anyone here too well, but this is horrible news. Best wishes to him and his family, and I am hoping he gets back to full strength soon.
  11. Jakester5112

    Fan interference?

    Interference with an out on the fly ball. Runners return to the base at the time of the pitch. If the umpire judged the ball wouldn't have been caught without interference, they should award the runners and batter the positions they would have reached.
  12. Jakester5112

    Appeal process gone awry

    Yes, that is correct. In this case, since the catcher is making a play on the fielder by appealing, interference by the batter would make them out. That does make me wonder, if the pitcher is switching balls for whatever reason and the batter hits the catcher, would you rule that interference?
  13. Jakester5112

    Appeal process gone awry

    In my personal opinion (I umpire ASA softball), I would not rule this an illegal pitch, because the intention to pitch is simply not there. However, there is no need for the pitcher to throw home because a dead ball verbal appeal can be made. This whole situation could've been avoided had the players and coaches known the rules. The interference ruling is a bit trickier. The rulebook says it's interference if the batter interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by making a movement which hinders action at home or the catcher's attempt to play on a runner. I do not believe there is a play being made on the runner because 1) it is a dead ball and 2) dead ball appeals don't need a physical play. My ruling would be based on whether I deemed the interference intentional. If yes, the batter is out and ejected for malicious contact. If no, dismiss it as incidental and award no penalties.
  14. Jakester5112

    Appeal process gone awry

    You are right. I missed the part about them trying for the appeal. Also, if they legally step off, there isn't an illegal pitch. Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
  15. Jakester5112

    Appeal process gone awry

    It's an illegal pitch, a delayed dead ball, and can be hit. Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
×