Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

BlueMagic

Members
  • Content count

    11
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

2 Neutral

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. BlueMagic

    MLB Balk Rule

    Thank you.
  2. BlueMagic

    MLB Balk Rule

    Thank you.
  3. BlueMagic

    MLB Balk Rule

    Is there anywhere I can find a concise summary of the MLB balk rule? I’m used to Fed rules and am unsure about the offensive team’s options under the MLB balk rule. Scenario: Runner on first. 3-0 count on batter. Balk called, pitch is delivered and it’s ball four. Does the batter return with a 3-0 count with the runner now on 2nd, or does he get to take the result of the pitch and the base on balls?
  4. BlueMagic

    Runner Interference...ruling?

    Why would BR get first base on his fair batted ball that would’ve been caught if there was no interference?
  5. BlueMagic

    Runner Interference...ruling?

    I guess I’m having a hard time understanding the logic behind the difference in ruling for the two scenarios. If you thought the ball hit by the batter would’ve been caught in both scenarios had the interference not occurred, why not call 2 outs? Why does fair/foul status matter?
  6. BlueMagic

    Runner Interference...ruling?

    Thanks, grayhawk. So under no circumstances would you call 2 outs in Scenario 1? If you thought the third baseman would’ve caught the foul ball had the interference not occurred, you wouldn’t call the batter out in addition to the runner who interfered?
  7. BlueMagic

    Runner Interference...ruling?

    Fed Rules for both scenarios Scenario 1: 1 out, runners on 2nd & 3rd, 1-1 count on batter. Batter hits foul fly on 3B side. Runner on 3rd interferes with third baseman's attempt to catch the ball. How is this handled, and is it handled any differently than the following situation? Scenario 2: 1 out, runners on 2nd & 3rd, 1-1 count on batter. Batter hits pop fly to SS. Runner from 2nd, thinking it was two outs, is running to 3rd and interferes with the SS attempting to catch the ball. Thanks in advance for any insight provided.
  8. BlueMagic

    Chirping Assistant

    Personally, I don't like to address expected behavior at my plate meetings. Especially at the HS level, I assume (I realize that's not always good to do) that coaches know how to conduct themselves properly even if they always don't. I don't like to get into what they should do if they have a question about a call, blah blah blah.
  9. BlueMagic

    Chirping Assistant

    Yeah, Maven, I could've handled it differently & I would have had it been a regular season game. Thanks for your feedback.
  10. BlueMagic

    Chirping Assistant

    I guess he got the message because I didn't hear from him again. And plus, his team run ruled the other team.
  11. BlueMagic

    Chirping Assistant

    Summer League HS game. Third game of the day (didn't start until 9:15 pm). Before the game starts, the pitching coach for the home team hands me baseballs and says something to the effect of, "If you widen your strike zone tonight, you won't get any arguments from anybody. We all want to get out of here." Top 1st, his pitcher can't find the plate. The pitching coach (who's sitting right outside the dugout) starts rumbling (where's that???, looks like a good pitch to me, etc.) During a brief stoppage in play, he starts yelling for everyone to hear, "Blue, we're gonna be here all night if you don't call those strikes!" I turn and look at him, take my mask off, and before I say a word, he says "I'm not arguing balls and strikes, I'm just saying it's 9:30. Gotta widen your zone." I respond, "I'm not the one who scheduled the game. Let me do my job, and you do yours." If this was a regular season HS game, I would've handled it differently (first of all, I wouldn't have allowed him to be outside the dugout). Thoughts/advice??
×