Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

aaluck

Inactive
  • Content Count

    67
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

4 Neutral

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. aaluck

    batter interference

    I'm with you on that. I would believe you can use... “ART. 5 . . . Interfere with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by: a. leaning over home plate, (steal to second and leans over the plate) b. stepping out of the batter’s box, (steal to third and he backs into the catcher's throwing lane, out of the box) c. making any other movement, including follow-through interference, which hinders actions at home plate or the catcher’s attempt to play on a runner, or” The only question I think we need answered is....Can a catcher "field" a PITCH. This is what I have a problem with because if so then the act of hitting/dropping down a bunt interferes with his ability to "field". Maybe I'm over-thinking it!
  2. aaluck

    batter interference

    Im not good with it, because I understand what you are getting at, but I do not know of a rule against it. Here is the definition of a pitch (Fed) “ART. 4 . . . A pitch ends when the pitched ball: a. is secured by the catcher, b. comes to rest, c. goes out of play, d. becomes dead, e. or the batter hits the ball (other than a foul tip).” I am looking for anything on what can happen during a PITCH...don't see an answer
  3. aaluck

    batter interference

    That is absolutely true. Otherwise it would be "interference" every time there was a hit-and-run. The batter hit the ball before the catcher could "field" it. Now once the catcher catches the PITCH and interference thereafter is called. The batter has the right to the pitch, whether it bounces half way, inside, outside or otherwise "unhitable". Had this come up a time or two. What you need to be looking for here is did the pitcher see it happening and step off first....at THAT point the catcher has the right to the ball because it is not a pitch. Had this happen also and called the batter out for interference (2 out already).
  4. aaluck

    Ball explanations

    I do this out of habit on close ones. I'll say something like, "that's too far" on an outside or inside. I BELIEVE this stops a lot of the questioning of "where was that?" I also think that it gives the impression that I am actually carefully looking at the location of the pitch. I know some folks frown on this but I find it to be an effective preventative measure.
  5. aaluck

    Catcher's Interference on Steal of Home

    Here is the problem with these situations.... Batters are usually instructed by the coach to "clear the area" so the batter cannot be called for interference. As such they are usually avoiding any opportunity to "hit the ball". It is always a tough play and I cringe when I see it developing.
  6. aaluck

    Hand separation in delivery

    Once you separate your hands from the set position you must deliver the ball or throw (feint were permitted) to a bag. You CANNOT separate your hands, cock your throwing arm back, lift your leg, bring your hands back together (whether they touch or not), separate them AGAIN and then throw to a bag. Take out the movement and think about it. Left handed pitcher comes set, separates his hands, (no leg kicker all of the other motions in this delivery) kinda brings them back together and then steps and throws to first...balk or not. My position on this would be that once he has broken his hands and started (what I call his delivery) he is committed to the plate. He is not permitted to throw in 5-6 other movements and then throw to first. Left handed-pitchers always keep their hands together as they start their motion which permits them to step toward first legally For reference here is the FED rule again. “During these preliminary motions and during the set position until a delivery motion occurs, the pitcher may turn on his pivot foot or lift it in a jump turn to step with the non-pivot foot toward a base while throwing or feinting as outlined in 6-2-4 and 2-28-5, or he may lift his pivot foot in a step backward off the pitcher’s plate which must be in or partially within the 24-inch length of the pitcher’s plate. ” It does not say he can separate his hands kick his foot into the air to his chest, bring his hands back together, separate them again and then throw to first. To answer your question.... How can you throw to a base if you don't separate your hands? You can't. But once you separate your hands you better step (direction and distance) and throw to first or start your delivery. Here he has NOT made direction and distance toward first AFTER SEPARATION so he is committed home.
  7. aaluck

    Hand separation in delivery

    I do to. That is where I would be concerned with a balk. I hope he has a great upcoming season(s).
  8. aaluck

    Hand separation in delivery

    Disagree, completely. Fed 6-1-3 “During these preliminary motions and during the set position until a delivery motion occurs, the pitcher may turn on his pivot foot or lift it in a jump turn to step with the non-pivot foot toward a base while throwing or feinting as outlined in 6-2-4 and 2-28-5, or he may lift his pivot foot in a step backward off the pitcher’s plate which must be in or partially within the 24-inch length of the pitcher’s plate. ” If that is not a delivery motion, I don't know what one is. He has committed to the plate. Further, his front foot is in the air moving forward (toward home) so it would be impossible to "jump turn" or change/reverse direction.
  9. aaluck

    Hand separation in delivery

    I don't see anything wrong with this. I agree with noumpere that I would have a problem as a coach because once he starts the "first break of the hands" he is committed to the plate and baserunners certainly could get a great jump on this motion.
  10. aaluck

    Hand separation in delivery

    Really need to see it. However, if only one umpire has said anything I would err on the side of its fine.
  11. aaluck

    end of game

    I totally agree. This rule has caused a lot of problems. I remember a situation in GA last year where they appealed a walk-off situation and it delayed the entire playoff https://usatodayhss.com/2017/ghsa-appeal-johns-creek-lee-county-baseball The umpires were correct and followed the rules to the letter, however, that did not stop the death threats..... Its out-of-hand. We need to apply some common sense every now and again,
  12. aaluck

    end of game

    This is not a time play. Because there are 2 outs the run can be negated on a force out...the BR never gets to first. If it was ball 3 the game would be over because he is not "forced" to first
  13. aaluck

    Batting order

    Probably shouldn’t have said never. Not familiar with LL and local rules. Being 50+ I should know better than to say never....and a lot of other things....
  14. aaluck

    Batting order

    There are no rules of baseball that would allow a manager to move a batter from one spot in the line-up to another. If you re-enter, you re-enter in the spot you were at, not a different spot. End of story, no exceptions.
  15. aaluck

    Catcher Pickoff Attempt

    That may be a good rule of thumb, but I don't see that in the rule. We see pitchers all of the time throwing to first, second, etc. attempting to "make a play" on the guy leading off. 99% of the time there is no reasonable chance of "making a play". I don't have a casebook here but I would have to imagine there are examples of what is or isn't interference. Those examples may even address "making a play".
×