Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

UmpCast_Wes

Members
  • Content count

    28
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

UmpCast_Wes last won the day on May 4

UmpCast_Wes had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

13 Neutral

Contact Methods

  • Website URL
    http://www.ump-cast.com/

Recent Profile Visitors

225 profile views
  1. Awkward daddy ball situation. Need Advice

    I try not to call time unless the fielders are holding the tag on and the runners aren't getting up. The fielders are holding the ball or keeping the tag on in case the runner gets up and leaves the base in the process. I've had an out from a runner sliding in and getting up with a tag on him, only to come completely off the bag. However, if they insist on holding the tag on and the runner isn't going to get up, I'll tell the fielder "Throw it back. Let's go." If he still holds the tag, I'll repeat myself. That usually does the trick. I've never had a coach get confrontational about it to the level you had, but I think just calling time to let the runner up once he started yelling might have avoided some of the problems. If he complains about you calling time, you can just say "We need to keep the game moving." Technically speaking there is no rule from the fielder holding the tag on the runner all day and the runner refusing to stand up after sliding in. The runner has a play being made on him and is in danger of being put out, and the fielder has a legitimate chance to make an out as the runner stands up. I would be very hesitant to eject anyone, at any level, over this. I can't imagine that report going over very well.
  2. Hit by pitch outside of the batter’s box

    With the umpire calling time it would be nothing (assuming accidental like you said). However, if we remove the called "Time" from the play as well I would have a ball and the ball would be dead. My reasoning here is that in 5.04(b)(2), if the batter leaves the box after the pitcher has come set, the umpire is supposed to call the pitch. Since the batter was hit while clearly standing outside the box I would say he cannot go to first base, as he has left his "position."
  3. Focus

    I'll echo what these guys have said about trying to find something to work on, be it for the rest of the game, the inning, or the at bat. Those games aren't easy. Sometimes I start trying to notice things I have no intention of penalizing for or even saying something about, just to keep myself in the game (uniform violations, "nit picky" balks, etc.).
  4. Association startup

    Brandon Barelmann, another host of UmpCast, would be able to help you with this. He has started an association and would know how to go about it. You can email him at hosts@ump-cast.com
  5. PU Signals to Scorekeeper / Pressbox; How To?

    Try to find out before the game where the official scorer will be sitting. It helps in case the press box is large at that venue. When you get a sub, wave at the scorer and make sure you have their attention. Then signal the number of subs you have, and point to where they are on the field. If you have more than one sub at a time, show the number of subs and signal "straight up" (F3 subbed for F3, F8 subbed for a new F8) then hold your hands in front of you like you're showing how big of a fish you caught and make a chopping motion. If that doesn't make sense, think of those aircraft control people that guide planes by motioning up and down with the signal cones. Then point to where each fielder is. Try to go in order of where they are subbed in the batting order. If you have two subs coming in that are "flip-flopped" (i.e. new F3 comes in at F8 spot and new F8 comes in at F3 spot, signal the number of subs first, then hold your hands in front of you just like you would with "straight up" except don't move them up and down. "Flip flop" your hand positions so one hand goes over the other and they essentially "change places." @noumpere had a good explanation for that. I feel like mine was terrible lol. But then signal where your subs are. If you have more than one sub or multiple switches, just do the best you can. I've found that scorers/announcers that have been working a long time often announce the changes before I can mark my own lineup card. If you have a substitute batter, I often just look up at the scorer and point to the batter after I mark my lineup card. Again, they'll usually see it and announce the sub before you can point him out. I'm not sure if there is a signal for an elimination of the DH role. For a protest, as @Gfoley4 and @Stk004 said, look at the scorer and draw a backwards "P" for the signal. Weather delay and Suspension of play aren't signaled. If necessary they can be called up to the press box via a phone in the dugout, but those should be pretty self-explanatory when everyone leaves the field.
  6. It's been a great run

    That's awesome @Typhoon. It's good to hear most importantly that your health is good, but also that you're able to make it back on the field.
  7. Partner meets but doesn’t want help

    Typically when I go to my partner but don't want to ask a question, it's because I know I need to change the call. I've gone up to a partner before and said something to the effect of "I just messed up and need to change that call. Do me a favor and nod your head yes and I'll change it." Usually the guys I work with only do that if they know the umpire they're working with and also know they messed up (or didn't).
  8. Walk with bases loaded

    No, he wasn't passed. I see why with a left handed batter it could be assumed that he was passed, because he "retreated" to take off his guards. However, to me this is no different than if a right handed batter stays put to take his guards off and the runner scores. When the runner from third legally scores, he is no longer a runner, and thus cannot "pass" anyone.
  9. Umpire Interference with catcher/runner

    No, this wasn't umpire interference. The runner is still allowed to score. I rarely call time to clean off the plate. It's a good idea to look at R3 as you are bending down to clean the plate, then either quickly clean it and/or glance over again once you've cleaned about half the plate. No longer than it takes to clean an entire plate, glancing over at the halfway point makes sure that R3 doesn't have time to steal without you noticing.
  10. Live ball?

    I agree with @MadMax. If it isn't intentional then play on. It's rare but it does happen!
  11. Batter interfere

    If the batter hinders or impedes the catcher in making a play at the plate (and it sounds like he did here), then he would be out if there are two out. If there are less than two out, the runner would be out. You don't actually have to have contact for there to be interference. The batter just has to get in the catcher's way of making a play at home.
  12. Should the base umpire intervene?

    I think in that situation not doing anything was the right thing to do. Anything going on with the coach and PU at that point was between them. Getting involved in a partner's situation isn't usually a good idea. However, like @blue23ll pointed out, it's sometimes very helpful.
  13. Calling Obstruction

    First off, thank you to everyone for your absolutely incredible response to our podcast so far! We appreciate all of the feedback we are getting from the umpiring community. Last week's live episode went incredibly well, and we are already looking forward to our next one on Sunday. Late nights are beginning to be pretty common for us as we work on improving things, but the changes we are working on are worth the effort. Now, for this week's topic: Any discussion about interference almost certainly has to reference obstruction at some point. In episode 12, we are going to be taking a look at all things obstruction related. What are some of the most memorable plays you've had where you called obstruction? Also, what was the end result of the play? For example, did you sell it well enough that no one argued? As always, we may use some of your answers on the show! If you haven't checked out a live episode yet, please consider joining us at 8:00 P.M. Central Time on Facebook. Facebook.com/UmpCast is the link.
  14. Wrong Balls

    I wouldn't restart the game. As others have said, just put the correct ball in play and go from there. However, with this only being the umpire's third game, I wouldn't fault him for restarting. Honestly at two batters into the game, I wouldn't fault anyone for restarting.
  15. The Interference Call

    Going out to right field after a call does make it harder to get to you. If he wants to argue, he has to think it's worth the effort to follow you out there.
×