Got a question that is tripping me up. Om my test it is Number 22. It reads:
R1, no outs. Batter attempts a bunt that rolls foul down the first base line. As the ball is about to stop rolling, the batter kicks the ball in disgust. The umpire is certain the ball would not have rolled fair.
Batter is ejected.
The batter is out.
R1 is out for the batter's interference
I have the batter being out (Answer B) per rule 7-11-h Note " If while attempting to advance to first base, the batter-runner intentionally deflects the ball, the batter-runner is declared out, the ball is dead and all runners return.
I feel that this rule conflicts with 7-11-o which reads "after hitting or bunting a foul ball, the batter-runner intentionally deflects the course of the ball that has a chance of becoming fair... The ball is dead, the batter is out, and no runner may advance.