Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member


  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

1 Neutral
  1. Unorthodox rotation situation

    That sounds like a lot of fun. I'm not judging, it worked out, but that's not by the book is it? Should the PU head back home and let the BU take the Rundown between 2nd and 3rd (And if there is time rotate to 3rd)?
  2. Best lines you've heard or used at an umpire?

    My partner and I tried to squeeze in the 7th inning before it got too dark and only made it through half of it before having to call the game. The coach about to go to bat complained "But you said it was bright enough for them to hit?" Without missing a beat my partner replied "That's how Mother Nature works coach... it gets darker as the sun goes down."
  3. Missed the play

    LRZ: I only mentioned the PU was at home because I wanted to convey that I couldn't go for help. Ultimately it is my play to call until I hear "I have third!" That is nice to hear but if I am working with a new guy I never expect it. Iawump: Thanks for your reply, the part above specifically is what I was hoping for.
  4. Missed the play

    Kevin, thanks for the response. You are definitely right I don't think I made the call loud enough. I think the reason I had a bad angle was because I was caught off-guard by the throw and didn't reposition fast enough. I was a good 15ft away from the play at the close end. The issue I had was it looked like he was tagged but there were no clues from the players that confirmed that. Maybe I should have waited longer to make the call to see how the play developed?
  5. Missed the play

    Hello, A couple days ago I was doing a Senior game (~17 years old) with one other Umpire (I was the BU). At one point a runner (the only one on at the time) got caught in a rundown between 2nd and 3rd. I was following the runner between the two bases because the PU was still at home. At one point F5 threw to F6 which caused the runner to be between myself and F6 who reached out to tag the runner. From my perspective I didn't see the actual tag but I from what I saw it looked like the tag must have touched the runner. I called the Out but the play continued with neither the runner nor the fielders seeming to hear me or think the tag had applied. After repeating the call a couple times the play ended and the runner asked me "Am I allowed to argue that call, Blue?" Was I right to make that call? EDIT: If so/not how sure do I have to be to make the call? How can I position myself in the future to avoid that?