Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Forest Ump

Established Member
  • Content Count

    335
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    3

Forest Ump last won the day on February 4

Forest Ump had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

124 Neutral

1 Follower

About Forest Ump

  • Birthday 12/18/1960

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Bay Area, CA
  • Interests
    Golf and old British cars

More information about you

  • Occupation
    Engineer
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    NCAA Div 2, JUCO, HS
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

7,957 profile views
  1. Forest Ump

    Hit by Pitch

    Don't let them steal first. Leave them in the box. Prepare to defend your call.
  2. Forest Ump

    Tricks Plate Dodgers Use...

    OK but you're buying drinks afterwards.
  3. Our position on the field is based on the probability of where the next play is or the best coverage will be. When the bases are loaded and the infield is in, I go to a deep B position, same position as U3 would use in three man with R1 only. This spot gets you out of the way. It puts you in a great position to see all infield action. It allows you to easily adjust for the next play at first on the BR after they throw the ball home to get R3. This is an "advanced" mechanic and I wouldn't recommend it to newer umpires.
  4. Forest Ump

    Balk?

    You have to scroll down. I listed the Fed rule and then the BRD interp. I do agree that a warning should precede this balk call. I also believe that it's a no call with a runner at 2nd or 3rd because he can see a right handed pitchers hand. I also believe that a strong argument can be made that this move is more deceptive than a hybrid stance.
  5. Forest Ump

    Balk?

    Could be . He has to present the hand or the ball by holding one or the other by his side or behind his back. The runner(s) must be able to see this. If you judge that they cannot, then call it. I called this balk recently because the pitcher tucked the ball up tight against his abdomen while looking in for his sign. Here's the Fed Rule and BRD interp. Pitcher hand by side.pdf BTW. The reason I have this PDF handy is because certain people needed this balk explained after I called it.
  6. Forest Ump

    FPSR - NCAA, FED, OBR

    Stepping on soap box...........FED and NCAA are identical rules with two exceptions. In NCAA a player is allowed to pop up and over slide the base. I always tell umpires that if you want to understand the FPSR, read the rule in the NCAA rule book. It's in section 8-4. It's well written and has a diagram. The FED rule is badly written and it requires you to read two sections to interpret the rule. .......Stepping down now.
  7. Forest Ump

    HBP Strike 3 again

    This is why I like the new college rule. It adds some teeth to the problem. Kid gets intentionally hit, not only does he stay in the box but he gets a strike. Plus coaches can not argue the call. A definite improvement in my opinion. I hope HS adopts the same rule.
  8. Forest Ump

    To see or not to see

    As other have said, move to get the best position you can. Read the ball into the glove and that will help you make your decision.
  9. Forest Ump

    HBP Strike 3 again

    One of the best items added to the new HBP rule, Coaches can not leave their position and argue the call. Coaches can come out and ask what happened but they must be warned that if they argue the call they will be ejected.
  10. Forest Ump

    You Make The Call

    OBS in FED and NCAA. When the runner entered the dirt circle, the fielder has blocked access to the plate without the ball. All in the span of 1 second. That how fast these things happen. Great video. Too bad the PU didn't sell the $hit out of that call. That's a must in any situation like this. That's the difference between a good umpire and a great umpire.
  11. Forest Ump

    Unusual FPSR Play

    I agree with Matt. No way is this a FPSR violation in the original post. The runner performed a legal maneuver by veering away from the fielder. Here's the FPSR rule from the NCAA manual. The FPSR rule is the same in NCAA as it is in FED with the exception that a runner can pop up and over slide in college. It's a shame that FED doesn't write the rule as detailed as this. Force-Play-Slide Rule SECTION 4. The intent of the force-play-slide rule is to ensure the safety of all players. This is a safety and an interference rule. Whether the defense could have completed the double play has no bearing on the applicability of this rule. This rule pertains to a force-play situation at any base, regardless of the number of outs. a. On any force play, the runner must slide on the ground before the base and in a direct line between the two bases. It is permissible for the slider’s momentum to carry him through the base in the baseline extended (see diagram). Exception—A runner need not slide directly into a base as long as the runner slides or runs in a direction away from the fielder to avoid making contact or altering the play of the fielder. Interference shall not be called. 1) “On the ground” means either a head-first slide or a slide with one leg and buttock on the ground before the base. 2) “Directly into a base” means the runner’s entire body (feet, legs, trunk and arms) must stay in a straight line between the bases. b. Contact with a fielder is legal and interference shall not be called if the runner makes a legal slide directly to the base and in the baseline extended (see diagram). If contact occurs on top of the base as a result of a “pop-up” slide, this contact is legal. c. Actions by a runner are illegal and interference shall be called if: 1) The runner slides or runs out of the base line in the direction of the fielder; 2) The runner uses a rolling or cross-body slide and either makes contact with or alters the play of a fielder; 3) The runner’s raised leg makes contact higher than the fielder’s knee when in a standing position; 4) The runner slashes or kicks the fielder with either leg; or 5) The runner illegally slides toward or contacts the fielder even if the fielder makes no attempt to throw to complete a play. PENALTY for 1-5—1) With less than two outs, the batter-runner, as well as the interfering runner, shall be declared out and no other runner(s) shall advance. 2) With two outs, the interfering runner shall be declared out and no other runner(s) shall advance. 3) If the runner’s slide or collision is flagrant, the runner shall be ejected from the contest. Note 1: If the bases are loaded with no outs, a double-play attempt is made, and interference is called, all other runners must return to their original bases. Note 2: On a force play, with a two-man umpiring system, if the plate umpire does not have a potential play at the plate, he should move toward the base to observe the runner going into second or third base. In this situation, the base umpire must follow the throw and may not see the true effect of the lead runner’s action. .
  12. Forest Ump

    Anyone see the LSU Army HBP

    No. Intentionally getting hit is always a strike. Freezing when the pitch is clearly within the batters box is not considered moving into the pitch. See above post.
  13. Forest Ump

    Anyone see the LSU Army HBP

    From the NCAA Central Hub: •Hit By Pitch –7-4-i, 8-2-d-1 •A batter who, in the judgment of the umpire, makes a movement to intentionally get hit by the pitch, is not awarded first base and a strike is added to the count, regardless of the location of the pitch. •“Freezing” is not considered making a movement to be hit by the pitch if the pitch is within the batter’s box. Getting hit by a pitch within the batter’s box without making any movement would allow the batter to be awarded first base. •This judgment by the umpire cannot be argued. (3-6-f-Notes 1 and 2). •If video review is being utilized, a coach could use one of his challenges to have this situation reviewed. (App. E-2)
  14. Forest Ump

    First games of the year!

    Yea....We're freezing out here in California. Today it's only suppose to get up to........... ummm never mind.
×