Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Hkepuck

Members
  • Content count

    19
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

6 Neutral

More information about you

  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    High School
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)
  1. 2018 NFHS Exam

    Come on now - there's a big difference between using the ground vs using your coach to help stop yourself. No, I'm not a newer official, thank you. My point is still this: The rule book and case book are unclear and very brief. Neither say "intentional" in the few times they cover this, at least that I've seen. I said there are probably deeper interp books that explain this better, which is what I'm looking for here. We've covered that if it's accidental, truly accidental, let it go. But what is the definition of assisting the runner? Must it be intentional? Furthermore, can a baserunner use the coach as a device to intentionally stop himself? I also disagree that it has to be a BIG for it (or anything weird) to be called, depending on the circumstance. But, I get your point - see my other example above, I've not called the "ball" on a start/stop with no one on. So I get it. That being said, I see too many officials let the "big/weird" call go because they are afraid to make it. Say a running lane violation, a balk, an illegal slide, a batter's interference, a guy bunting while out of the box, etc. There are officials I work with that would never, ever call a guy out for contacting the ball on a bunt or swing outside the box. Not worth it to them to have to stop play, call and out, and explain what they have. But is that right? To me, no, but that's just one man's opinion. I don't really care whether something is forgotten about in a week or never forgotten - make the call you think should be made, don't ignore it because it's a weird/tough call/controversial. That line is different for everyone. Not making a call is making a call. I called this interference a couple years ago when there was a guy on 2nd, a throw from 2nd to 1st on the BR on which the runner advanced from 2nd, and after touching 3rd, took an aggressive round. 1B pumped a throw to 3rd seeing he was a bit out there, and as he did this, the 3rd base coach stuck out his arm to kind of catch him/stop momentum (perhaps a slight push/lead back) back to 3rd. I called the out. I'm not sure that the runner knew a throw might be coming, but the coach saw it, and basically helped lead the guy back to 3rd by using more than just words.
  2. 2018 NFHS Exam

    In looking at the rule book and the case book, I can't find where it says "intentional" anywhere. Just "assistance." I think that's a big sticking point here. It might be in an interp book I don't have, though - and that's why I brought it up here - I am looking for more clarity. Or are we supposed to infer that "assistance" means "intentional"? I would argue that you could easily "unintentionally assist" a runner. To me, my second example is clearly assisting him and helped the runner gain an unfair advantage. Intentional? Perhaps not. So if it's accidental, let it go. What if it's not accidental on the player's part? Let's say the coach stands still, hoping not to get in the way of his runner. Even throws his hands up. The runner uses his coach to help stop his momentum (say he grabs on to his waist as he goes slightly past him) and/or pushes back off his coach to help him get back towards the base. The coach didn't intentionally assist the runner, but the player intentionally used the coach to gain an advantage. By the definition of "not clearly an intentional attempt to help a runner advance or return by touching him," this wouldn't be assisting a runner and an out...which doesn't seem right, but maybe it is. I think the question is bad but the rule book/case book don't help much here.
  3. 2018 NFHS Exam

    The problem, to me, is that the question is a poor one - we need more information (seems to be a trend). We have no idea if he was rounding third and stopping, going to score, etc. No idea what base he ended up trying to go back to. There's a couple scenarios in which I could imagine that being played out and it's assistance (even if not intentional). 1) Guy rounds third, he's being sent home. Problem is, he's (likely) a gone goose at home. He runs into the coach (which stops him early/from getting into a pickle further down the line), and as a result, scampers back to 3rd safely. Without that coach contact, he's out. A better example... 2) He was trying to stop his momentum rounded third to hold up, slipped and fell, and the collision with the coach actually kept him closer to the base/helped him stop quicker than if he had just slipped/slid along the grass in foul territory. It's possible he's out without the contact, but in this case he gets back to third safely. To me, simply saying "accidentally collides" doesn't give me enough information. Side note, I think I had this question on the test last year and got it wrong, and I think I put "b"...so now I don't know what to do
  4. 2018 NFHS Exam

    Hi guys, two questions on the NFHS test I would like your guidance on: 1) R2 is on 2nd base, and there is a base hit. As R2 rounds 3rd base, he slips and accidentally collides with the 3rd base coach. What is the ruling? a) The runner is always out. b) If the umpire determines the coach didn't physically assist the runner, he should ignore the contact and let play continue. c) The 3rd base coach can help the runner to his feet. d) The 3rd base coach can push the runner back to 3rd base. "c" and "d" are obviously incorrect. I believe the answer is "a". My question is...is any physical contact considered assistance if it's during a live ball? Say he's running home as above, collides with the coach, which slows him down, keeps his feet (or even falls), continues home, and still scores. Still consider it an assist, call the out as soon as contact is made? ******************************* 2) The bases are empty. The pitcher is in the windup position. He starts his delivery and stops. What is the correct call by the umpire? a) A ball will be added to the batter's count. b) This is a balk. The batter is awarded first base. c) Nothing. The umpire shall call "time" and start the action over. d) none of the above. "b" and "d" are incorrect. By rule, I believe the answer is "a", though I have to admit that I've officiated this using "c" the few times it has come up because there's just nothing happening, no advantage gained, maybe the pitcher took a step and thought I wasn't ready or started before the catcher was completely done with his sign, etc. If the answer is "a", I just feel like jumping out on that and throwing a ball on the count is going to bring a coach out, get you accused of over-officiating (especially if it was ball 4), etc.
  5. Slim-fit Pants

    I use combos behind the plate (base pants on bases). I'm a slimmer guy, about 5'9" 150, and the plate pants are just a bit too big for my liking. The combos feel enough like plate pants to me. The actual plate pants feel a little clown-y, and I think they look like that on any other slimmer/shorter guys I've seen as well. As others have said, if your shin guards are form fitting and look OK in combo pants - I think you'll be fine with those. The combo pants won't appear tight, and may even appear better on you than regular plate pants. It's a bit personal preference, IMO. I hated the look of having my chest protector on tight, tight tucked in shirt...clown pants on the bottom. As long as the combos aren't restrictive/look too tight, I wouldn't be afraid to go with them.
  6. Throat guard on Force3 mask

    Thanks Scott!
  7. Throat guard on Force3 mask

    Thanks. Moved it to the inner cage and it definitely dangles and swings now.
  8. Do I have to the throat guard on correctly here? It’s a 6” with the button closure. It feels a bit tight - won’t go forwards at all, but will go backwards. This is due to that small little “middle” bar that attaches to the spring. So, it doesn’t exactly dangle/swing a lot. If it’s not correct, do I put it on a different bar? Attach it differently - zip ties or something to make it hang lower? Is it good as is? Not really interested in chopping it. Thanks for any advice.
  9. Oh, maybe we should evaluate the play at hand? Exactly.
  10. You strike me as someone who probably thinks these aren't swings.
  11. If a guy attempts to bunt the ball or swings at the ball, the correct thing to do is call it. You see an attempt, you see an attempt. I'd rather make the right call than the easy call. Guess MLB umpires didn't take game management 101.
  12. So it's impossible to both offer at a pitch and then try to avoid it? OK.
  13. That's a good call. Clearly attempted to strike the ball. 1B dugout replay showed it best.
  14. Coach Thinks ENTIRE Batter's Box is FOUL

    This is easy, no? If the guy is going to act like a child, treat him like a child. Why not actually take him to a field, draw a line from the back plate all the way to the base, then place the ball in that corner of the box, and ask him what side of the line its on? This could also be done by taking your fed rule book, flipping to page 7, and showing him the graphic in the top left hand corner - it has the batters boxes and actually has the lines drawn all the way to the corner of the plate. I'd then put the onus on him to cite you the rule that says that the entire batter's box is considered foul ground.
  15. Under Armour "Base" Shoes

    Thanks for the review. These look sharp. Glad I'm not the only one that has an issue with the NB. By the 3rd inning I'm running back to A and my shins are hurting - as you said, no bounce/cushion.
×