Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

mwest5575

Members
  • Content Count

    73
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

16 Neutral

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    NWBUA (NC)
  • Occupation
    College Professor
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Through High School
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. mwest5575

    Advice for Gear? Younger levels

    Without a doubt the Champion Body Armor chest protector. For shin guards at the level you are working I'd suggest something light and comfortable, like Diamond Featherweights. (Or whatever is comfortable you can find used. I'd spring for the Champion CP new if you can't find a used one as you will never have to upgrade if you don't want.)
  2. mwest5575

    Base runner

    Seems like they don't want a warning and fix it, but get the outs and ejections. No way it's not on purpose.
  3. mwest5575

    Why Follow The Pitch Into the Mitt?

    At most levels any of us call, how the catcher catches the ball is going to have a lot to do with game management and the perception of your zone. As beerguy says don't wholly rely on the catcher but definitely use him, especially on close pitches. If a catcher catches a really good/close pitch like a strike, you aren't going to have a computer to explain to the coach where it missed. I'm going to get it. And "framing" a pitch isn't a terrible thing. A good catcher should be trying to catch every pitch like it's a strike. If the catcher is good at setting up with the glove touching the plate squared with his body, sticks close pitches, and the pitcher can hit spots, you are going to get a lot of strikes and not a lot of complaints. At least that has been my experience. That's different than jerking pitches, which as others have wisely said, you want to knock off early if you can. Unless it's a cock shot, don't get a pitch with the glove moving across the zone in anything varsity and up. Working early with your catcher to establish your zone and a good relationship will help you get more strikes, which is what you want. And good catchers will help you get more strikes. I had a game last weekend and the catcher stuck a pitch off the plate. I barely got the word "ball" out of my mouth before he apologized for trying to get that pitch, and he didn't do it again. (Actually that exchange with the catcher made me feel good about the rest of the game. I knew he got it and was going to help us have a good game.) Also, beerguy, your handle autocorrects to "beergut" on my computer, which is hilarious to me.
  4. mwest5575

    All American v. Champion

    I really like my Champion. I don't know what the price difference would be but I'd pay 10-20 more for thicker, more durable plastic and I think it would be the best CP on the market (fit, comfort, etc.). I've been wearing a Douglas recently and it "feels" more protective to me. I took a foul ball Saturday with no problem that I would have felt with the Champion. Having said that, nothing fits me better than my Champion...It sounds like the AA might be worth having if you can get as good a deal as you are talking about. Best of both worlds?
  5. mwest5575

    Bush League Play

    Beerguy you are not incorrect about LL. Rule 7.13 talks a ton about this for 12U games (Minors and Majors). Runners off their base at TOP are sent back prior to the next pitch. They aren't called out but since they can't lead off they have to go back to the base they legally occupy prior to the next pitch. The runner is liable to be put out but if he isn't then there are a whole list of rules about how to put the runners back based on whether the ball was hit or not, etc. I think 7.13 would cover it.
  6. mwest5575

    Bush League Play

    In the OP the ball didn't become dead so I'm not sure why I'm checking these rules. If there's a foul ball R2 would go back just as if he had been running on the pitch.
  7. mwest5575

    Bush League Play

    1. I wasn't the only one to have this perspective on this thread. In fact, most everyone said let it go until SA came in a laid the law down. And there is no rule or case study against it. 2. I didn't argue that. I said that once the batter becomes a batter-runner (after the second walk) R2 becomes R3 and former R3 is forced home. So I suppose you could call a forfeit according to rule 7.03 (a)(3) as the runner allowed home is refusing to play the game or (2) delaying the game. Your guess is as good as mine. Just pointing out that I didn't say it was because we couldn't have two runners on the same base. 3. Where did I say it doesn't matter? I said in the real world this stuff isn't likely to happen, so that's why there isn't a case play or rule added. And made a joke (which apparently is verboten on here). If you think this is trolling you don't get out on the inter web much. I think people learn from asking questions which is why I come to this site and ask questions (very rarely). I thought that's what forums were for. I was respectful, more so than you guys. Sorry to ruffle your feathers. Neither of you has said what you would do in this case btw. Are you going to stand out in front of the plate until the pitchers runs after someone? Or tell R2 to take a few steps back to second?
  8. mwest5575

    Bush League Play

    Ha ha. This really is getting absurd. Of course he will advance. And, for that matter, of course two guys standing on a base is going to prompt any legit defense to do something about it. I was just answering your question about legally occupying a base. If I'm calling a game where the defense let's two dudes chill on third base together and the offense won't take a free walk home I'm heading to my car.
  9. mwest5575

    Bush League Play

    So the language is plain, two runners may not occupy a base. Then it goes right on to say if two runners happen to end up touching the same base the defense can put one of them out. It's not like the baseball world stops turning, just that R3 is entitled to be there (occupy) and R2 is liable to be put out. The pitching rules say where the defense and batter must be to pitch but nothing about the runners. I don't have a case play to show you but a case play about a batter's turn at bat ending and something from softball isn't much more helpful. Of course softball handles it differently because you can't take leads. If my takeaway form the case play should be to continue to call it as I see it I see R3 legally occupying third and R2 with a really big lead touching third and liable to be put out. And I don't have a rule that compels anyone to do anything about it. Do we tell R2 to go back a step or make the pitcher do something? Then there's the hypothetical juicing of the bases. So you walk a batter and I guess bases are loaded with R2 still with a huge lead. The next batter walks and former R2 is now R3 and former R3 is forced home. So you have rules in place that keep us from getting 4 baserunners on at the same time without making anything up. Matt, R3 is entitled to occupy third until he is forced and then I guess he has to do something. I'm not sure what else you were referring to. So why hasn't this happened since the 1800s? Well it has as explained in the OP, and probably countless other times in low level ball around this great country. It hasn't happened at any remotely high level of baseball because the defense is going to get an out...Not because the umpire comes out and quotes softball case plays. ETA: I disagree that my assertion goes against the fundamental design of the game. The defense can put R2 out if they want. It is not similar at all to having five base runners or a BR going back to bat again.
  10. mwest5575

    Bush League Play

    Missing what point and incorrect by what rule? The first walk would give R1, R2, and R3 (with R2 for whatever reason chilling at third but not legally occupying it) and then the next walk would force R3 home. You wouldn't allow the game to proceed until he did. What rule am I getting wrong?
  11. mwest5575

    Bush League Play

    That doesn't make sense. The second walk would force R3 home. They aren't both legally occupying third base. R3 is occupying third and R2 is just touching it. If a runner misses second and gets to third he is not legally occupying third but if the defense chooses not to appeal it then we leave him there. There's nothing that says the pitcher can't pitch with two runners touching third. Just that one of them is liable to be put out.
  12. mwest5575

    Bush League Play

    I don't see why OBR is any different. "Two runners may not occupy a base" just means one is entitled to it and the other is not. I don't see anything that precludes the pitcher from pitching anymore so than NFHS. The interpretation quoted has to do with a fair batted ball. That is very different IMO. The batter is now a batter-runner and can't bat anymore.
  13. LOL. What does that make the Saints/Rams game then? Sorry couldn't resist pulling up the old thread...
  14. mwest5575

    Stoping motion with no runners on.

    Well I think it worked out fine. He wasn't doing it intentionally. Just nervous and inexperienced. The first time or so he went ahead and delivered the pitch before I could say anything (I was volunteering for my son's game in street clothes and not trying to over umpire) but nobody knew what to do or said anything (plate umpire, our coach, fans, etc.). So I went over to the pitcher and told him he needed to stop doing that. I don't think he could help it. So the next time I killed it and said no pitch. So the coach came out and wanted to know what was going on. I explained it to him. I told him I would ball the quick pitches and with runners on ball the illegal pitch. So he talked to the pitcher and he tried to do better. I get the pitcher is learning and not doing it intentionally but (and probably amplified by my son being on the opposing team) the batters are learning too, and it was frustrating/disconcerting for the batters (who are also young and nervous) to have to guess whether a pitch was coming or not over and over again. The coach pulled him after the half inning. I just couldn't believe nobody else at the field was going to say anything. So what would you do in this scenario if the pitcher stops (doesn't deliver a pitch) but does it multiple times. At some point don't you have to put a stop to it? It feels like it puts the batters at a disadvantage.
  15. mwest5575

    Stoping motion with no runners on.

    Yeah but if he delivers a pitch before you can get him to stop I don't understand why it wouldn't be a quick pitch if in your judgment the batter wasn't set. Basically the batters would step with the pitcher but not get ready again before the pitch came (it was fast).
×