Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

humanbackstop19

Members
  • Content Count

    75
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

32 Neutral

About humanbackstop19

  • Birthday 07/24/1982

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Decorah, IA

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    NCAA D III, NCAA, IHSAA, CBUA
  • Occupation
    Teacher
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    HS, NCAA, NJCAA
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Referred a member

Recent Profile Visitors

611 profile views
  1. humanbackstop19

    Another Force play slide INT video

    I'll chime in. I see NO FPSR INT in this play. 1) The runner must make contact with the fielder beyond the base for it to be an illegal slide. I've got contact in the baseline (directly between bases) prior to the base. At the very least, it's on top of the base where F4 took the throw in a kneeled position (which the rule is only violated if the fielder is "standing"). 2) The timing of the slide is late, but according to the case book in 2017, irrelevant. 2017 NFHS CASE BOOK - 2.32.1: "With a runner on first base, a ground ball is hit to F6, who throws to F4 covering second. R 1 slides late at second, stays in the baseline, but makes contact with F4 who is in front of the base, who overthrows first base. RULING: Providing the slide is legal, and the contact is not malicious, there is no violation." I place blame back on coaches. F4 should have been coached to get in front of the bag to take this throw. He should have been stretching like a first baseman from the corner of the bag towards home plate, because a double-play was not going to be possible. If F4 was in this position and R1 still makes contact, we've got an easy call.
  2. humanbackstop19

    Another Force play slide INT video

    https://photos.app.goo.gl/mwYUZJMfsXYaY1zL7 This one is a little different. My main question is: If the runner is safe, how can there be force play slide interference? I cannot find a FED citation that supports this, but it is cited in NCAA.
  3. humanbackstop19

    Force play slide INT video

    Anybody have force play slide interference here? This play ended a State semifinal in Iowa with the tying run on second base at the time of the pitch. https://twitter.com/KWhiteOWH/status/1022915170761420800?s=03)
  4. humanbackstop19

    OBS at Home Plate then Malicious Contact

    Absolutely, that's what they're teaching! The only time a catcher's helmet/mask comes off is when the baseball goes off the bat straight up in the air where they can make a play on it. Otherwise, it stays on.
  5. humanbackstop19

    OBS at Home Plate then Malicious Contact

    100 % agree! Hope it didn't seem like I was justifying anything. Perfect angle to see this........thank you local sports news!
  6. humanbackstop19

    OBS at Home Plate then Malicious Contact

    I posted on this play in the Free For All section. My best guess is that U1 (who rotated to the plate here) got so amped up to make a big OBS call in a State game, he rushed the call and did not "pause, read, and react", to get the MC. You can see him almost giving the old DDB signal before contact even occurs. After he rushed, he died with his premature call on the field and stuck with it, perhaps knowing instantly he missed the MC. Furthermore, in this particular play, if there was no MC, there was no reason to make the award like he did, because the runner DOES touch the plate and score after the collision. He was signaling the run scored before the runner touches, voiding any possibility for the defense to appeal if for some reason he fails to do so.
  7. humanbackstop19

    NFHS Malicious Contact?????

    I absolutely agree with that. They SHOULD have gotten together and had an extensive conversation about this. This was a 4-man crew. There should have been a lot of eyes (8) seeing this play considering there were no trailing runners. SOMEONE had to have additional information that U1 did not have since he blocked himself off from getting a good look by not reaching all the way to third base line extended to start. This is probably the most disappointing aspect of this play; that during a 4-minute delay so that the defense could replace their catcher, nowhere on the video does it show the umpires get together and nail this thing out. and get the call right. If anybody judged MC (which is hard to think nobody wouldn't have), the calling umpire goes to the offensive coach (before changing the call) and states, "I have additional information that there was MC on the collision. By rule, your runner is out and ejected from the ballgame. By rule, because MC is umpire's judgement, you can NOT argue this call." Then, I would probably signal towards the dugout and signal the OUT call. If there is any further argument from the OC, he risks his verbal and written warnings, restriction to the dugout, and/or ejection.
  8. humanbackstop19

    NFHS Malicious Contact?????

    This was a 4-man crew. U2 went out on the trouble ball, and the rotation by PU would reverted back to 3-man to third. So, yes, he was VERY late on this rotation considering it was a clean 'for sure' extra-base hit over the CF's head.
  9. humanbackstop19

    NFHS Malicious Contact?????

    It came from the OP. Same angle, I just couldn't post the video off the stream page, so used the twitter link which was the same on the video board.
  10. humanbackstop19

    NFHS Malicious Contact?????

    In the OP video, you can see U1 never fully rotated to a third base line extended spot. Just got within the vicinity. He MAY have been able to make the call if in the right spot.
  11. humanbackstop19

    NFHS Malicious Contact?????

    I like the NCAA input on these types of plays. Without citation, it basically says the runner MUST avoid an avoidable collision. That puts it into the hands of the runner to avoid this type of train wreck IF possible. Which, we all seem to agree the runner came back into the catcher in this OP. Therefore, the runner has four options: 1) Stop and give himself up (and hope OBS would be called) (In this video it was being called) 2) Turn around and retreat to previous base 3) Go around the fielder making a play on the ball, or 4) Perform a legal slide If the runner does none of these four and the result is a collision like in the OP, there's warrant for an ejection. Also, what's not in the link, after the collision, the runner pops right up, shows no remorse for what just occurred, and pumps his fist and exchanges high fives with teammates.
  12. humanbackstop19

    NFHS Malicious Contact?????

    Turned out to be huge. The scoring team won, 3-2.
  13. humanbackstop19

    NFHS Malicious Contact?????

    With U1 rotated (4-man crew), but not third base line extended, I can see how he never saw the runner deviate back into the catcher. I've got a forceful blow to the head though, incidental or not, MC and ejection.
  14. humanbackstop19

    NFHS Malicious Contact?????

    This happened last night at the Iowa State High School Baseball Tournament? Whatcha got? Never mind that every post online called it catcher's interference, ha. Runner was ruled safe on the play. Anybody see enough cause to warrant a malicious contact call? https://twitter.com/Jaxen563/status/1021569950882955266?s=03
  15. humanbackstop19

    Where is the arrow pointing?

    My judgement to the shoulder position is: If I can read the script all the way across his chest, he's good. If something is chopped off, I tell the catcher to go tell his pitcher to straighten up towards me so I don't have to call it. In the OP, I agree in the frustrations. We've been told how many times in how many videos (including the test!) to call this, and then on the biggest stage of college baseball it is ignored.
×