Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Mussgrass

Established Member
  • Content Count

    130
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

30 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Location
    Southeastern PA

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

941 profile views
  1. Sorry, I was not trying to be funny!
  2. NCAA is college rules, right. These are grown men who should know the rules about proper appeals, I would think.
  3. Mussgrass

    SWMBO at it again.....

    She is definitely a keeper. My SWMBO buys me guitars. No guns yet, though!
  4. Mussgrass

    Umpire positioning for softball

    I would say just like in baseball with 60 foot bases, ball's in you're out, ball's out you're in.
  5. Mussgrass

    Bat Hits Ball Second Time

    Got it. Thanks!
  6. Mussgrass

    Bat Hits Ball Second Time

    @Gfoley4 That's what I was thinking. Does this reference a dropped bat? In my question the batter has not dropped it yet.
  7. Mussgrass

    Bat Hits Ball Second Time

    I have a question regarding a ball over foul ground that either hits the batter or his bat if he is not still in the batter's box. Is he out or is it a foul ball? The rules 7 & 8 below deal more with him still being in the box. I also get it that a batted ball is not yet fair or foul until further conditions are met. Rule 9 mentions an intentional deflection. I am specifically thinking of a situation where a batter hits the ball and takes a step out of the box and the ball in foul ground bounces up and hits the bat which he is still holding, nothing intentional on his part. OBR Rule 5.09(a)(5) to 5.09(a)(8) The batter is out when: (7) His fair ball touches him before touching a fielder. If the batter is in a legal position in the batter’s box, see Rule 5.04(b)(5), and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball; (8) After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance. If the batter-runner drops his bat and the ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, the ball is alive and in play. If the batter is in a legal position in the batter’s box, see Rule 5.04(b)(5), and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball; (9) After hitting or bunting a ball that continues to move over foul territory, he intentionally deflects the course of the ball in any manner while running to first base. The ball is dead and no runners may advance;
  8. Mussgrass

    Ejecting Fans

    In some, maybe most leagues, you are probably correct. I can only speak for the Lanco Youth Baseball League, which I used to coach in. Umpires absolutely could (and did) eject fans. It happened to the other team's fans in one of our games.
  9. Mussgrass

    foul ball danger chart

    What do you do if the batter is way off the plate? Do you move further inside too?
  10. Mussgrass

    Bush League Play

    I am confused with the direction that Senior Azul and Matt are taking this thread! R3 is not forced in the OP. Also, R2 really doesn't need to do anything until the defense makes a play on him. There was no foul ball so he does not need to return to 2B before a pitch can be thrown.
  11. Mussgrass

    Appeal play

    To throw another wrinkle into this, if R1 were to return to, and stand on second, he would still be out on appeal if tagged, correct? I don't know if that would ever happen but second base would not be a safe haven if he needs to return to first.
  12. Mussgrass

    NFHS Malicious Contact?????

    Maybe this question shows my inexperience, but, is this a situation where the umpires should get together to discuss what happened to get it right?
  13. Mussgrass

    weird force play

    I stand corrected.
  14. Mussgrass

    weird force play

    The umpire was correct. The force play was actually reinstated after she retagged second and headed back to first. The real key to this was that the B/R was not out yet. If the catch had been made or the defense would have gotten the B/R out before she reached first then the force is removed. If the catch had been made now it becomes an appeal play for R1 to get back to first. Others with more knowledge may expand on my comments.
  15. That hits close to home! I live in the other end of Lancaster County. (Pronounced Lanc-uster )
×