Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Nafxos

Established Member
  • Content count

    103
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    4

Nafxos last won the day on April 30 2016

Nafxos had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

59 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling
  • Location
    Massachusetts

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    MBUA
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    ABUA (umpire.org)

Recent Profile Visitors

1,057 profile views
  1. Chirping Assistant

    I used that once in a HS varsity game, but with emphasis on the last word ("who are YOU?"). HC and assistant were both questioning something between innings. I don't remember what the issue was, but it worked beautifully. HC told AC to get in the dugout and keep his mouth shut.
  2. Benidtenei out of baseline

    By the time F3 fields the ball, he was back in the running lane and his right foot was almost touching the right edge of the lane. That's the starting position that matters, not where he was (in fair territory) a few steps before. I don't think he deviated 3+ feet to avoid the actual tag attempt.
  3. Benidtenei out of baseline

    I didn't like the call. I don't think he deviated more than 3 feet from his established basepath once the tag attempt began.
  4. Balk call extends MiLB playoff game

    Here's a longer video from a different angle: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0duIaLLuXM F2 and the batter clearly knew exactly what was going on. I'd guess he called a "no stop" balk.
  5. Ball/Bat/Batter contact around home plate

    I had one of these plays yesterday and may have kicked it. HS varsity, but we play under OBR here in Massachusetts. I'm PU. R1. Righthanded batter bunts and runs into the ball in front of home plate. His trailing right foot was still on the ground in the box but most of his body was in front of the plate and the ball was clearly in fair territory. No intent to interfere. I ruled it foul. DHC wanted an out. I was pretty sure of myself when I made the call, but after re-reading the rules last night I began to think I should have grabbed the out. I ran it by some other umpires this morning and the consensus was foul, but I just don't see that based on the actual language in the rules.
  6. Halloween Costume

    I was a vumpire a couple of years ago.
  7. Balk or walk?

    Deleted
  8. OUT FOR NOT TAGGING UP

    Maybe if the runner sprinted into LF and tackled F7 before she could catch the ball. Other than that, probably not.
  9. infield fly runner stayed on first

    This is not an appeal play. He was out before the pitch was thrown to the next batter, and he's still out after the pitch is thrown.
  10. Not correct. The batter is awarded first. Next batter leads off next inning.
  11. Does a Home Run Negate a "Force" Play?

    Interestingly, less than 24 hours after having this discussion, I had a JV game end yesterday on a missed base appeal when the would-be tying run missed 3rd. There was no force situation, so it's not exactly the same, but had the bases been loaded instead of just R2 and R3, it would have affected the final score and possibly could have affected the outcome. In my game, VT trailed by 2 in the top of the 7th with 2 outs and R2 and R3. Batter hits an apparent game-tying double. Defense appeals that R2 missed 3rd. PU calls R2 out, taking tying run off the board, game over, HT wins by one. Had the bases been loaded, my understanding is that R3's run would not have counted because R2's out on appeal would still be considered a force out, and thus the HT would have won by 2. If the home team had only been winning by one with the bases loaded, it would have been a sh*tshow. R2 out on appeal. R3's run doesn't count because of the force out. And instead of a tie game we'd have game over.
  12. Too familiar???

    I can definitely think of one local umpire who is WAY too familiar / comfortable with the local teams. When we're working, I don't want to see my partner chatting over the rail with fans between innings, or laughing with coaches, or taking over the plate conference as BU to explain "his" ground rules, or not doing any pre-game or post-game with me because he's too busy holding court. It's incredibly unprofessional, although I doubt the teams / coaches / fans know any better. So when other umpires work with him, we look like unapproachable a-holes in comparison.
  13. Does a Home Run Negate a "Force" Play?

    Yes, thank you! Lightbulb has finally gone on, and I see the light. I think my issue stems from the case play that talks about R2 missing 3rd on inside-the-park HR. I assumed (wrongly) that they were specifying "inside the park" in that instance because it was meaningful information, and thus that an outside the park HR might be treated differently. Lesson learned. Sorry about the rule number mixup. I was posting from my ipad earlier and mucked it up.
  14. Does a Home Run Negate a "Force" Play?

    I get that part. I'm having trouble with the force play part, and why this isn't exception 3 to 5.09(a). My question in a nutshell was "does the over-the-fence home run change it from a force play to something else?" The consensus here seems to be no. Which is fine. And that's how I'll rule in the unlikely event I ever see this play in real life. That said, I still haven't seen anything explicit in the case plays cited that addresses this exact situation.
  15. Does a Home Run Negate a "Force" Play?

    Rich - I really appreciate the comments and I am not trying to be obtuse here, but I'm still not seeing anything explicit in the rules or the commentary that convinces me that R2 missing 3rd on the over-the-fence HR is a force out upon proper appeal. I see it on the inside-the-park HR, because everyone is forced to move up one base when the batter hit the ball. But on the over-the-fence HR, we now have a dead ball award of home for everybody. Yes, the runners still must touch the bases in order. And yes, the defense can appeal a missed base. But I can't make the connection that with bases loaded, if R2 misses 3rd and is properly appealed, that was a force and R3 can't score.
×