Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

indianaumpire15

Established Member
  • Content Count

    233
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

indianaumpire15 last won the day on September 25 2016

indianaumpire15 had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

35 Neutral

About indianaumpire15

  • Birthday 12/22/1984

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Greater Indianapolis Area

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    CBUA, IUA, IOA
  • Occupation
    Background Ivestigator
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    D2/D3/NAIA, Prospect League, Great Lakes CSL, High School, Travel
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

1,668 profile views
  1. indianaumpire15

    Balk Award

    We’d let it play out on an immediate wild throw in situations where the balk is called for F1 not gaining ground towards 1st or when LH F1 stepped to the plate and threw to first correct? Just want to make sure I’m understanding the difference between the OP with the feint and these sits.
  2. indianaumpire15

    2018 Mid-American Umpire Clinic

    Best weekend two man clinic in the country.
  3. indianaumpire15

    Smitty Poly Spandex Combo Pants

    Payment sent. Thanks.
  4. indianaumpire15

    F1 step towards 3rd from sent position

    This might be precisely what I got confused with years ago. Thanks.
  5. indianaumpire15

    F1 step towards 3rd from sent position

    I think I misinterpreted it.
  6. indianaumpire15

    F1 step towards 3rd from sent position

    You guys are life savers I can’t believe with all the complex rules I have a great handle on that I was so confused on this one. I’ll be happy to tell my umpire buddy that I was wrong and why.
  7. indianaumpire15

    F1 step towards 3rd from sent position

    I think it was a situation where I may have misunderstood and just seen other guys not call it. I know for a fact I have been watching a HS game and seen a guy step towards third and wheel to first with an R1 only. And no balk was called. Now I know for sure that is a balk.
  8. indianaumpire15

    F1 step towards 3rd from sent position

    Fair enough guys maybe I was just reading too much into it and I also got confused. Thanks for setting me straight on this one. So just to clarify the feint to third move is only legal when there is an R3 or an R2 that is advancing or at least makes it appear he is trying to advance to third?
  9. indianaumpire15

    F1 step towards 3rd from sent position

    6.1.5 SITUATION: With R1 on third base and R2 on first base, F1 steps and feints to third and then steps and throws to first attempting to pick off R2. The throw goes into dead-ball territory. The offensive team’s coach wants a balk to be called because the pitcher never threw the ball toward third. RULING: When the pitcher stepped off the pitching plate in his feint to third, he became an infielder. Hence, when his throw goes into dead-ball territory, all runners are awarded two bases. R1 gets home and R2 gets third. Had F1 stayed on the pitching plate dur- ing his feint to third and his throw to first, all runners would be awarded one base. R1 would get home and R2 would get second. This would not be a balk as F1 made a legal feint and a legal pickoff attempt with no prior motion to pitch. This case play seems to be in direct contradiction of that and it says the step towards is a legal disengage. Its just a confusing deal on this one.
  10. indianaumpire15

    F1 step towards 3rd from sent position

    In pro ball it’s not legal to feint to third in HS and college it is. Your second addition about the question you asked is how I always looked at it. In rule sets where the step to third is legal.
  11. indianaumpire15

    F1 step towards 3rd from sent position

    Wait you can only do the 3-1 move when there is a R2 advancing or an R3? That is not what we are taught in Indianapolis. Plenty of players step toward third and then throw to 1st with R1 only here and it’s never been a balk. That’s at the college level also.
  12. indianaumpire15

    F1 step towards 3rd from sent position

    So F1 can step towards third fake a throw then throw to F5 and that would be legal?
  13. indianaumpire15

    F1 step towards 3rd from sent position

    I understand what you’re saying about disengaging but at some point the step towards third has to disengage F1 or he would not be able to wheel around and throw to first. I am trying to figure out at what point that is. Or is that thinking misplaced?
  14. indianaumpire15

    F1 step towards 3rd from sent position

    At what point does the pitcher become an infielder when he steps towards third? I was talking with another umpire in our local HS group who had a play the other day where a team had an R1 only who faked like he was going to steal second the pitcher stepped towards third and threw the ball to F5 after his non pivot foot landed. F5 then threw to second and R1 was safe. The umpires did not call a balk. My understanding of this has always been since the a feint to third base is legal in HS that once a pitcher steps towards third and his pivot foot raises up off the rubber he has made himself a fielder and can now throw to any base legally. Just want some clarification on this. Thanks guys.
  15. Shipping would be to 46064. Let me know thanks.
×