Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

kylehutson

Established Member
  • Content count

    756
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    11

kylehutson last won the day on February 23

kylehutson had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

363 Good

About kylehutson

  • Birthday 07/04/1971

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Westmoreland KS

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Northeast Kansas Officials Association (NEKOA)
  • Occupation
    Supercomputer system administrator
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Rec coach-pitch through HS varsity
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

3,141 profile views
  1. kylehutson

    Interference, Obstruction, or Nothing?

    Cool. I had that Albany team at regionals 2 weeks ago. ...and I agree it was obstruction, in spite of the baserunning.
  2. kylehutson

    Apparel n' Equipment Guide v2

    Quite well, actually. The jock keeps it in place.
  3. kylehutson

    Apparel n' Equipment Guide v2

    First of all, as someone who has lost a significant amount of weight, I will never discourage you from trying that. But as for the NB, the idea is for it to "float" (as stated above). That means you don't put compression pants/shorts over the top. The jock lets it move around. If you put compression pants/shorts over the top of the jock, it's no longer floating, it's stuck right there. It definitely feels different, and I can see how some people might not like it. For me, though, I've never had anything more comfortable.
  4. kylehutson

    Apparel n' Equipment Guide v2

    Wait, you have the cup outside the jock? I do compression shorts, cup, jock, pants. I find the NB to be much more comfortable than my old Shock Doctor.
  5. kylehutson

    Fair ball goes out of play

    F6 used to show that he was under 250' from home plate. Canseco was near the fence - well over 250' from the plate, so this doesn't apply. And yes, it would have to be a walloping hit to deflect off somebody that close to the plate and still go over the fence in fair territory.
  6. kylehutson

    Fair ball goes out of play

    I think it's clearly NOT what you think. It says "deflected at a point less than 250 feet" That to me, means what @beerguy55 says. A line drive hits off F6's head and goes over the outfield fence - still a two-base award, not a HR.
  7. kylehutson

    Adams XV-HDX received today thru hibbetts

    Ump-life - also referred to on this forum as "Ray-flex". @Razzer makes them.
  8. kylehutson

    MLB Balk Rule

    No shame in admitting you're wrong. Insisting you're still right on the other hand... My goal is just to not make the same mistake twice!
  9. kylehutson

    MLB Balk Rule

    Since I posted earlier in the thread, I got it in my email. Thank you for that. Apparently I was, indeed, wrong. I hate when that happens. @BlueMagic - listen to what they said instead of me.
  10. kylehutson

    interference/obstruction/play on???

    As long as it's not intentional? I guess the catcher shouldn't have dropped it there. As @LMSANS said... play on.
  11. kylehutson

    MLB Balk Rule

    So in your particular case, the result of the play is that the batter and the only baserunner *did* advance one base, so the balk is ignored. If that runner had been on 2nd base instead of first, we still let the play run through. If R2 (the runner who started on 2nd) advanced to 3rd*, then the balk is ignored. But if R2 is still standing on 2nd, the result of the play is that we enforce the balk - so R2 goes to 3rd, the batter goes back to the plate with a 3-0 count. *which often happens when a balk is called - the runner will advance and the defense will not attempt to get the out, not realizing that they can - not that it will affect the baserunner (he still gets 3rd), but that it will affect the batter.
  12. kylehutson

    Hello from CO

    Howdy from "next door" in Kansas. I did the same thing (a few years in rec before moving to competitive ball) - it only gets better from there.
  13. kylehutson

    Appeal process gone awry

    Because of 8-2-6f: f. More Than One Appeal. Multiple appeals are permitted as long as they do not become a travesty of the game. Appealing "everything at once every play" falls into that latter category.
  14. kylehutson

    No call or Out

    Personally, I always give the count before putting the ball into play (unless it's a new batter) anyway. So, yes. After about the third one I might phrase it as "still 1-2".
  15. kylehutson

    Late force out call

    Isn't that obvious?
×