Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

The Flush

Members
  • Content count

    55
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

9 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    N/A

Recent Profile Visitors

1,619 profile views
  1. We definitely used CRs for our catcher last night (no need to CR for last night's pitcher). I was however reminded of the downside of CRs when the slow F1/F3 that is usually run for had to run for himself because he was F3 at the time and had already reentered the game. After a big hit that would have been a triple for anyone else, he got doubled off on a routine flyball to CF with 1 out. I blame his lack of base running experience. Maybe that is why it is considered a speed up option because it results in more outs.
  2. We are in the Southern Ohio Conference II if you ever do work down here.
  3. Thanks for everyone's help. I'll try to get clarification through our coach before tonight's game. I like the idea of the CR not just to possibly speed up play, but also to just get more kids involved into the game.
  4. The game in question was against a conference opponent. Maybe all JV games are considered non-league games since they are not varsity games? I think there was some discussion between the 2 coaches and one of the umpires right before the 2nd time we ran for him.
  5. I have become the scorekeeper for our high school JV team. I am new to scoring high school ball and the JV head coach is new as well. I thought he said Ohio does not allow CRs, but it seems like we were allowed to run for the same player twice in our last game and he still went back in to finish the game. This (very slow) player started as F3 and was subbed for after his first hit and then reentered to continue as F3. He later moved to pitcher and in the bottom of the 6th he had another hit. He was run for again, but still went back out to pitch the top of the 7th. If CRs are not allowed, how was he able to pitch the 7th since if he was subbed for a 2nd time he would not be able to reenter again? What am I missing?
  6. Baseball

    Schrödinger's Foul.
  7. Obstruction with cutoff man

    If the ball, F3 and BR are all at the same place at the same time as per the OP, how do you decide whether or not there is a play being made on the BR?
  8. The OP was about a judgement call. What about a rule misapplication? Son's team had bases loaded with less than 2 outs when R2 was hit by a fair batted ball. Umps called R2 out, but allowed R3 to score. I am just the scorekeeper, but I thought that R3 should return to 3B. I told our coaches I what I thought, but did not say anything to the umps. Opponent coaches said nothing. Our coaches said nothing. Run counted. Game ended in a tie. We get a first round bye and end up winning the tournament. Do umpires want outside info in this situation?
  9. Stalling

    Son's team has faced 2 teams that wasted time like a pro soccer team. At least in soccer you can give a yellow card for time wasting. When they did a pitching change, the new pitcher had to go to the dugout to get a different glove, but it took so long to get that glove that he could been waiting on Amazon Prime to deliver it to him. And then catcher had to go get some water or they did a catcher change at the last moment. These 2 teams were 2 of the best we have faced and really did not need to waste time (at least to win these games, the could have been worried about their next games). These team also only batted 9 whereas most 13U teams near us still roster bat.
  10. This might take a while to get ready...

    That's why we traveled from Ohio to Gulf Shores this week. And have had 2 rain delays in 2 days, plus it is raining as I write this as we wait for the first game of the day. But I am on the beach and it could be dry at the park a few miles away.
  11. Chant

    My son's team is playing in a big USSSA tournament in Gulf Shores this week and we faced a team yesterday that did this, except it was mostly led by the coaches. I think utrip is OBR based. Does that mean that it there is no specific rules against this for this tournament? It might have annoyed the parents more than the players or coaches. I don't think that our coaches ever made a complaint about it. This was also a team that had 5 coaches outside of the dugout for the entire game.
  12. Batters box

    What are these batter's boxes that you speak of? Haven't seen one at a tournament yet this year.
  13. metal cleats

    We recently played at a 13U tournament at a park with mostly turf fields (Berliner in Columbus, OH). I assume there was a rule that said no spikes on turf or at least no spikes on the artificial mounds. We were playing on one of the non-turf fields with an artificial mound and the umps made a pitcher change shoes in the middle of an inning because of the rule. This team was from out of town and the pitcher did not bring another pair of shoes (or left them at the hotel) so the kid swapped shoes with a bench player. The umps were less concerned with the pitcher's white long sleeve undershirt under his blue jersey.
  14. Awkward Foul Tip

    That happened in the Auburn-Alabama game a couple nights ago. 1 out, pitch in the dirt, check swing pops it up to F3 who catches it and throws to F5 as R3 was running on the play to end the inning. Except none of the crew saw it that way and ruled that it was a ground ball that bounced to F3. This allowed the run to score and the BR to remain on 1B.
  15. We had a similar situation in a 13U game last week. The PU was friendly/chatty and since I am the scorekeeper he had asked me the inning and score during the game and he generally like to chat between innings. BR avoided contact with F3 and was called out on a close play. I commented to another spectator that BR had to go around F3 and it slowed him down. PU overheard me and said no, he chose to go around F3, but he did not have to. I don't know what he was implying , but don't really think he implied that he should have plowed the F3. Maybe he thought BR should have gone inside instead of outside (ball not thrown by F1 or F2). I am still not sure what to tell the BR to do in this situation to increase chances of being safe and uninjured.
×