Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

rzanew

Members
  • Content Count

    41
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

2 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling
  • Location
    Central TX

More information about you

  • Occupation
    Software Engineer
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Rec league through HS
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    ABUA (umpire.org)

Recent Profile Visitors

1,923 profile views
  1. rzanew

    2019 Rulebook is now on Arbiter

    Read it this way: In addition, the committee wants to point out that if the baserunner runs more than three feet away from a direct line between bases to avoid a tag or to hinder the defensive player he/she will be declared out. If A, then B The contranegative is "Running not more than 3 ft of a direct line between the bases to hinder the defensive player, he/she will not be called out." If not A then not B. Q.E.D.
  2. rzanew

    2019 Rulebook is now on Arbiter

    This is a troublesome statement. The first part contradicts current rule and interpretation regarding the runner's basepath (which he/she determines). The second part is just wrong. Seems to imply that a runner can hinder a fielder as long as they don't deviate more that three feet. Ugh!
  3. rzanew

    Throat guard for F3 Defender V2

    I use the Mizuno Throat Guard with my F3 V2. The velcro loops are long enough that it dangles nicely from the mask. https://www.amazon.com/Mizuno-Catchers-Helmet-Throat-Guard/dp/B00NX4ZU9Q
  4. rzanew

    Infield Fly with Tagup

    I agree with you both. I was surprised by R2 advancing on a "routine" fly ball. This was a first for me. When was the last time you saw (or heard about) a runner tagging and advancing on a caught infield fly?
  5. rzanew

    Infield Fly with Tagup

    Yes, verbalized and signaled by both of us.
  6. rzanew

    Infield Fly with Tagup

    16U Summer ball tournament using NHFS rules R1, R2, 0 outs. I, as BU, am in C. Infield fly rule in affect. Sunny, hot, windy conditions. High fly ball is hit toward F6 & F5. Initially F6 calls for the ball is is waiting to make the catch. Wind blowing in from Left Center. F6, F5 and F1 all moving toward the likely position the ball will fall, which keeps them moving closer to the plate. Ball is caught by F6 very close to the mound. Since F5 and F6 have moved from their original position, 3B coach calls to R2 to advance to 3rd. He advances with a not so close play at 3rd (F5 out of position but trying to cover). Defense now appeals that R2 left 2B before the catch. My question -- Who is responsible for the tag of R2 (and R1) during IFR? Since I was watching the catch (from C), my back is to 2B, and unable to see if R2 tags up after the catch. Should I have pivoted on first touch of the ball to see R2 (and not see the result of the catch attempt)? It didn't occur to me to check on the tag-up , as advancing on IFR is very rare. PU made the ruling on the appeal, as he was close to inline with the catch and R2.
  7. Not likely. DHC likely didn't know the rule, either. And just accepted PU's explanation.
  8. Recently worked a 12U game with a completely new partner. This is regional rec-league post-season game with umpires from different leagues, played using USSSA ruleset (OBR based). Never worked with this person before. I am BU and he is at the plate. R1, R3, outs don't matter. RHP; F5 is straddling the bag holding the runner at third. I had noticed that F5 has one foot in foul territory, but disregard it; trying to not be OOO, and waiting for OHC to say something (based on recommendations in other threads posted here). RHP comes set and starts his motion to deliver to the plate, and the PU comes up yelling "Balk!". He continues to describe it as a "fielder's balk" since F5 is not fully in fair territory. Awards R3 home, and R1 to second. I motioned to have a conference with him, where I tried to explain that there is no such thing as a "fielder's balk" and that is the wrong call. After a brief conversation, he essentially said he is sticking with the call and not changing it. DHC eventually comes out and asks PU about the call, and is satisfied by the description and goes back to the dugout. When your partner makes an obvious incorrect ruling, what do you do? Did I overstep by discussing with him on the field? Alternatively, should I be more assertive in getting the call corrected? If the DHC won't say the word "protest", do we just eat this call and discuss post-game? I've had this happen a couple of times this season. How far do I go to ensure we get the play right? (including seeking to overturn partner's rule interpretation errors)
  9. rzanew

    Bounding Ball Out of Play - Triple?

    https://www.mlb.com/video/hernandezs-rbi-triple/c-2092125183 Ball never left the field of play. "Award" was simply what Hernandez achieved on the play.
  10. rzanew

    Delayed call puts runner at disadvantage

    Thanks for all the replies. I suppose I was second guessing my self (again) and wanted to confirm the correct response to the play (wait, wait, wait until the play is done).
  11. What is the recommendation for signaling on a play with an error that then continues? Here is the situation: 14U 55/80. R1, stealing on the pitch. Good throw which arrives before the runner. However, F6 doesn't glove the ball and it rolls 8-10 feet away. Tag is applied (with empty glove) and R1 thinks he is out and slowly overruns second base. F6 chases the ball and easily tags the runner. Would you signal and verbalize "safe" after the failed tag attempt? I didn't do or say anything as the play was continuing. In retrospect, this may have put the runner at a disadvantage since he clearly felt the tag and assumed he was out. Is the delay and waiting for the whole play to finish the right mechanic?
  12. rzanew

    Stealing home with a foul ball

    We have a local (League) rule for 10U/12U/14U which reads: It's difficult for the BU to watch R3 and the pitch at the same time.
  13. rzanew

    LL Omission/Loophole?

    A strict reading of the verbiage in Rule 8.01(b) states that the pitcher comes "to A complete stop." (emphasis mine). Therefore, only one stop is allowed, which is the set position. Any other stoppage during the delivery of the pitch would be another stop, and therefore, illegal.
  14. rzanew

    How to keep the Nutty Buddy in place

    What works for me is the Shock Doctor compression short with pocket. The NB slides in easily and stays put. Unfortunately, the SD shorts come with a cup as well, so I have that one sitting around (as a backup?) unused. Took a shot directly to the NB in a 12U game this week (first time!). The SD/NB combo worked great as I hardly felt a thing.
  15. rzanew

    RHP Balk to 1st?

    This makes it clear that RHP and LHP are treated differently, at least for NCAA. I wish OBR and NHFS would have something similar.
×