Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

FleasOf1000Camels

Established Member
  • Content count

    557
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    7

FleasOf1000Camels last won the day on July 14 2016

FleasOf1000Camels had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

273 Good

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling

Recent Profile Visitors

3,024 profile views
  1. Passed Ball

    Let's get it all together in one place. Assuming batter has 2 strikes, and first base is unoccupied with less than 2 out; If batter attempts to bunt (or otherwise offers or swings) and misses entirely, catcher must catch the ball cleanly or tag/throw the batter/runner out at first. If batter hits the ball foul while attempting to bunt with 2 strikes, he's out regardless of what the catcher does or fails to do.
  2. Infield Fly, Interterence, or Both?

    I don't see any justification for getting 2 outs on this play. As the batted ball hit the BR in fair territory, the ball would be immediately dead, and the IFF would be enforced. BR is out, but cant be out twice.
  3. Positions

    Just a couple steps toward LH batters box (3rd base extended) should give PU an unobstructed look at 2nd for FPSR, easy to watch touch at home, and still have good angle if help is needed on pulled foot/swipe tag at 1st. Always remember; angle trumps distance.
  4. Does Pitcher Have to Pitch Bottom of 1st

    Just for the record, we told coach since he was listed as pitcher on the lineup card he had to pitch to one batter, unless he was injured or ill. VTHC gave us a very mild argument (hell, he was up 13-0), but I'm reasonably certain he knew all along we were right. Since one pitch was considered an inning of work, he left the starter in for a full inning, he struck out the side on 11 pitches.
  5. Does Pitcher Have to Pitch Bottom of 1st

    12u tournament, OBR with the normal 12u overrides. There are limits on number on innings a pitcher can work in a day and for the entire weekend, 1 pitch is counted as an inning. Lineup cards are exchanged prior to game, and umpire keeps record of pitchers. HT is severely outmatched, gives up 13 runs in top of 1st. With the game clearly in hand, VT wants to save their pitching and change pitchers before the HT's first at bat. Can they do this, or must the listed pitcher pitch to at least one batter?
  6. Many, MANY years ago, I was working with an older veteran partner, and we had this play. I was BU, and R1 went nearly to the outfield grass in order to take out the pivot man. I called R1 out, called the interference and the BR out as well. After the game my partner told me I shouldn't have made that call, as it was his responsibility. I asked "if I hadn't made the call, would you have made it?" He said "No, because I'm too far away, not a great angle, and the pitcher in the way." I (little more than a rookie at the time) then asked "why, then do all the mechanics manuals say that's the plate guy's call?" His response was classic "I don't think anybody actually wants us to make that call. The take-out slide is part of the game."
  7. Fair/Foul

    The position of the BALL at the MOMENT it is FIRST touched is the ONLY thing that matters on this play as described.
  8. RUNNER ATTEMPTING TO KNOCK BALL OUT OF GLOVE

    Pure judgment. Based on what I see on that clip, I'd not be inclined to charge INT if F2 had lost control of the ball...but I wouldn't be shocked to get an argument from DC.
  9. Catcher not in control of mask

    Did you consider having an 'off-the record' chat with his coach between innings? "Hey Skip, can you work with Joey on the way he removes his mask? He's killing me back there." Unless coach is a total douchebag, he'll probably cooperate.
  10. Batted ball?

    Yup, definitely sdrawkcab. Note to self; don't mix vodka with pain meds.
  11. Batted ball?

    I don't think we REALLY disagree here at all. Perhaps I just wasn't thinking 'outside the box' enough to consider all the possible scenarios. From the very beginning, I could only imagine the bat being in foul ground...heck, where else could a bat be when tossed from home plate toward the dugout? And, yes, I suppose that the fair/foul position of the bat (in and of itself) doesn't really matter, EXCEPT, that if the ball hit the bat in foul ground the ball obviously crossed the foul line..in which case; with runners on base it's a balk, with no runners its a ball (ball four according to OP). I never considered the other scenarios you, correctly pointed out; the bat being dropped in front of home, etc. So, yes, my position would change in that case...but that's not the way I read the OP. Sure, batter drops bat in front of home plate where it is hit by errant pitch bouncing or rolling toward plate...that ball would be in play, and judged fair or foul just the same as it the bat had still been in batter's hands.
  12. Batted ball?

    We're arguing over nothing. Better close this thread before I say something that gets me banned.
  13. Batted ball?

    I keep going back to the OP. "Batter tosses his bat toward dugout..." Hard for me to imagine how a bat tossed from home plate toward the dugout could be anywhere BUT outside the foul line. Even harder to imagine how that bat could be considered anything OTHER than part of the field....as described in OP.
  14. Batted ball?

    Yes, beerbuy55 and Rich Ives...I should have been more careful in my wording. Whether an attempt to put ball in play, OR attempt to interfere with a ball in play, EITHER would certainly require intent. From my reading of the OP, I didn't see anything that led me to believe that there was any intent. The OP says "batter tosses bat toward dugout and starts strolling toward first"
  15. Batted ball?

    Certainly correct...but I believe I covered that in the final line of my post. If I judged INTENT, either to interfere OR to offer at the pitch, I'd rule differently. By my reading of the OP, there was no mention of intent.
×